VC Day 5: A Juice Fast

I had to go in to my office today (I know. I am spoiled). Thing is, I am super lazy about dragging food in with me. Prior to the vegan challenge starting I would usually just grab something to go from downtown Chapel Hill. I could make that work. But I just don’t feel like trying to figure it out as a vegan, and I am not motivated to bring food in.

That’s where I got the idea for a mini-juice fast.

My thought was I could juice for breakfast and lunch and then have dinner. Yeah, that sort of happened.

I went to the store on Sunday (when Ihad my melt down over snacks in Whole Foods) and got some extra cucumbers. This morning, I found that one of my cucumbers had gone slimy leaving me with three when I wanted to juice four. I ended up falling a bit short on my juice (about 8 ounces less than what I wanted). All that meant was I broke my fast around 3:00 with a snack.

I was fine in the morning. I started going downhill about noon. Between noon and 2:00 I was in a juice fast fog. Still, this was a vast improvement over the first time I ever did a mini-juice fast. The first time I ever did something like this I couldn’t get off the couch. I had horrible headaches and was soooo tired. At least now I can function. Around 2:00 my fog lifted.

I stopped off and got some of my favorite Spread on the way home. It’s been sold at Full Lotus over on 9th street in Durham. There’s only one container left, and it’s a flavor I didn’t really care for. I took the rest home with me.

I had already decided to break my fast with some spread. I had crackers at home, but I knew to check them out before I ate them. Problem is, I didn’t check them out before I left the house this morning. Stopping off for some Spread was a last minute idea, and I could have also gotten crackers at the same time.

Turns out, the crackers I have (which are some kind of cracked black pepper crackers) contain milk and are not vegan.

Guess who ate them anyways? Hey – it’s a vegan challenge, not a vegan perfect. I wasn’t running back out to the store. I do plan to continue to eat these crackers until I go back to the store tomorrow.

I had a nice bit of quiet time on my nail bed and then spaced out for about 30 minutes beyond that. Juice fasting is hard, and it’s hard when you haven’t done it in awhile. Thank goodness I do not have class today! I know people do five and seven day juice fasts and come to class. I do not know how that happens. I also do not know how people go more than a day without eating actual food not in a liquid format.

I do plan on doing the juice fast again next week. I assume the second time around will be much easier.

Whose got juice fasting experience of any sort? What’s it like for you?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simmm
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 18:07:56

    Not juice fasting, but I often eat raw until dinner. It usually consists of two green smoothies, and a handful of raw nuts. In my opinion, the challenge is the lack of carbs. We crave them, and often have trouble feeling full/satisfied without consuming them. There are many people who think carbs are addictive, and I agree based on personal experience. I think it’s interesting that you ended up breaking your fast with crackers, and that you did not even care they were not vegan. Sounds like you were craving carbs.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 31, 2013 @ 17:06:04

      I don’t know if I was craving carbs or not. I was totally dying to dig into the Spread, but I was worn out from the jucie fast and not in the mood to go back to the store. Hopefully my mini-juice fast will work better next week. This was a trial run.

      Reply

  2. Penelope
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 13:36:44

    I can’t do liquids only. I’ve tried!

    Have you tried making your own cheeze spread? I make my own and I don’t know if it is anything like what you buy, but it is pretty tasty. I’ve even made pizzas with it! Just soak one cup of nuts for an hour in some water. (I’ve used cashews, almonds, and pecans — and those are in order of tastiness of finished product. Definitely prefer cashews.) Also, you want some roasted tomatoes for this. I like mine tomato-ey, so I usually roast about 5-6 of those canned tomatoes at 425 for 20 minutes. You could use fewer. Anyway, just blend the soaked nuts in a food processor with a few cloves of garlic, 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil, about 3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast (the online vegan recipes will tell you one tablespoon but they are WRONG – it is cheesier with more), and the tomatoes. The key is to blend it for longer than you think you need — maybe 5 minutes or more — you want it really smooth. It keeps about a week in the fridge.

    Anyway, there it is if you want to try it. I find it really helps having this stuff around the house! It is great on crackers. And Triscuits are vegan! (I have an unholy love of Triscuits. Mmmm, salt…)

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 31, 2013 @ 17:07:07

      Well, I only did liquids for breakfast and lunch. I often juice for breakfast and have gotten used to that being my meal. It was hard not having actual food at lunch. I have not tried making my own cheeze spread but am interested. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: VC Day 6: A Cheeseless Day « My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. Courtney Pool (@CourtneyPool)
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 16:23:16

    I’m a juice cleansing coach and can tell you that they are one of the best things you can do for your health. Experimentation is good!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: VC Day 8: So It Is the Diet That’s Kicking My Butt…Marvelous « My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 19:39:16

    VC Day 5: A Juice Fast http://t.co/heeQGMnLPF #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 06:46:27

    VC Day 5: A Juice Fast http://t.co/heeQGMWpZJ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

