VC Day 6: A Cheeseless Day

I woke up on Day 6, post mini-juice fast, with a lovely headache. Some food (my protein bar) quickly got rid of that and then off to class I went! I actually had a really good beginning class today. I was worried that I might have a hard time given the juice fast from the day before, but all was well. I had hydrated properly on top of drinking my juice. I felt pretty good in class.

Advanced went well today too. I had the best lifting lotus of my life. I really got some height on that thing and managed to hold it for a five count while balancing on my fingertips. I crashed out of it though. Not the prettiest of landings. I’m not really worried about the landing yet. I figure I’ll get the height consistent and get it so I can hold it for a 10 count and then work on easing back down. I think once I get the stamina for it I’ll be able to come down without a hitch. I want to get a picture of it soon so I can see how high up I really am (versus what my brain thinks. my brain isn’t always in reality). I don’t do lifting lotus everyday. I tried, but it wears out my fingers and that’s only doing it 1-2 times a day. I aim for 3-4 days a weeks. Seems to be working. I’ll post a picture when I get one.

After Advanced, I had to forgo my favorite lunch spot, Salsa Fresh. I had the perfect post-advanced meal going on over there: a cheese quesadilla, four ounces of hot cheese sauce, and a side of chips. It was perfect. I covered the chips with the cheese sauce and salsa from their salsa bar and made my own mini-nachos. It was so yummy.

I am pretty sure that everything at Salsa Fresh has either meat or cheese or both in it. I am sure they could make me something vegan, but I just can’t bring myself to go in there during the challenge. It’s too tempting and too depressing to not get my favorite dish.

So today I went next doot to Neomonde and had a nice mediterranean lunch.

Nice lunch with no cheese.

Nice lunch with no cheese.

It was totally delicious. In fact, I’ve eaten there before. If they had a location by my house I would go more often. I just miss my cheesy goodness over at Salsa Fresh. On the other hand, I am not feeling bloated from gorging on a cheesy goodness meal. In fact, I am starting to get hungry again. We don’t usually plan a meal on Thursdays. It’s everyone for themselves.

I have a frozen Candle Cafe vegan mac and cheese that I’m getting ready to go hit up soon. I’ve had it before. It is ok. It is not the best. They cost way to much money (six or seven bucks).  But I have them sitting around for just in case moments. This is one of those moments. I am making my own vegan mac and cheese this weekend! Wish me luck.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christa Provenzano
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 17:41:06

    Your mountain was good too!

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 17:48:09

    You’re rockin’ it! That Mediterranean lunch looks AMAZING, despite it’s lack of cheesiness. I’ve eaten junk and no vegetables for the last two days. Blerg.

    Reply

  3. teenieyogini
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 21:30:48

    I got a cool tip from one of our regional champions (I think I mentioned, she’s a ‘terp and I’m deaf, so she always makes sure to chat with me, even though I’m new), she said to practice making all of the transitions during the floor series in beginning class up on the fingertips, to build strength for advanced. So far it seems to be working.

    Reply

    • Penelope
      Jan 31, 2013 @ 21:35:05

      Yes! Our advanced leader taught us the same thing and it is super helpful! Although, I have some weird numbness in my right index finger from practicing crane!

      Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 01, 2013 @ 07:49:48

      When Joseph did a workshop at my studio he recommended the same thing. I was very diligent about trying it, but it did not work for me. Another competitor said it worked beautifully for her. I had to buy little finger exercisers to notice improvement. It’s definitely worth a try.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: VC Day 13: I’m a Salsa Fresh Girl « My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 06:14:12

    VC Day 6: A Cheeseless Day http://t.co/hwTuge697j #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

