VC Day 8: So It Is the Diet That’s Kicking My Butt…Marvelous

Here we are on Day 8 of the vegan challenge, and I have learned some things. I haven’t learned anything that I will be sharing with you today very well. Bear that in mind as you read this. I’ve just been introduced to some ideas that are new to me. I’m going to share them, but my explanations will be minimal (because that’s the best I got today!).

Yesterday, I discussed having a very, very bad class. I wasn’t sure why it happened. I also noted that I have had it rough in class since the challenge started. However, since the challenge coincided with my period starting I hadn’t been sure what to think. It was all a giant mess.

Today, I set myself up sort of on the hot side of the room, but I didn’t totally committ. We have a side that has no fans, and it was set up like that on purpose for people who do not want fans on them. I have reached a point where I generally do not want fans blowing on me. It makes me cold. But after yesterday’s class, and not being real sure what was going on with my body, I set up so I was kinda on the hot side but got a small amount of breeze on me. It worked well. I think it was more mental than anything else. Class was not as bad as yesterday.

I did get a comment from yesterday’s post that I want to quote a bit from here about these God-awful classes I have had this week:

You might be having some hard classes because your body is trying to get rid of the casein which might be a while. I hope it subsides for you soon. After being vegan for a while though, you will probably get more flexible because casein causes inflammation.

Holy crap. Casein causes inflammation? I did not know that. Seriously. Did. Not. Know.

I shared this comment with Mark and asked if this was true. He confirmed it was. In fact, it had been discussed at his vegan challenge meeting today. They had a vegan nurse as their guest speaker and guest chef, and she had gone into the details. She also said that people might not be feeling so great during the beginning of the challenge because they are cleansing/getting rid of toxins. Ah-Ha! I had wondered if this might be the case. It was great to get all of this confirmation. While I feel just fine and dandy outside the hot room, my practice is a miserable mess at the moment. Now I am really starting to understand why.

Knowing that I am likely getting rid of junk in the room has given me a lot of motivation to keep on with the challenge.  I was wondering if I was sweating out crap, but I also wondered if that was all in my mind. I really do feel much more motivated now even with the bad classes. I feel like eventually I will come out the other side and that other side is going to be fabulous.

Anyways, I haven’t had time to do a whole lot of research on the whole casein as an inflammatory thing, but you can look here and here. I have consumed great amounts of casein so….getting out the effects could take awhile.

Tonight we ventured out to eat but without going to our beloved Fiction Kitchen. There just wasn’t enough time to get there (well, there was, but I would have been stuck with a wait). I won’t be able to go next weekend either. Boo.

So we started looking for places to eat out at. When I say “we” I really mean Mark because we started looking around on the day I had done my mini juice fast, and I was grumpy. Nothing sounded good to me. But in the end, the deal is that it’s really difficult to dine out as a vegan, at least in Durham, NC. We eventually settled on Mediterra Grill:

My lovely vegan meal from Mediterra

My lovely vegan meal from Mediterra

I had the potato cake wrap (which I love!) with the orzo salad (it was ok. a little cold for my taste). But still, eating out is kind of a pain in the butt. I might find one or two things on a menu that are vegan, but if I think they just sound ok I don’t bother with going. However, I do want us to get out once a week for a meal so I can talk about my experiences eating out as a vegan. They are difficult! If you live in my area, I welcome suggestions. Since Fiction Kitchen is a 45 minute drive (one way), I think we all know that Mark and I are willing to drive if the food delivers!

Finally, I want to add that I did not break down and eat non-vegan cake yesterday. I was totally getting ready to, but then one of my yogi buddies saved my behind. Every day now, one of the competitors at the studio sends me a message telling me what she had to eat that day (all vegan). Right when I was getting ready to score some cake I saw the message. In the message, she said she had a vegan cookie from Whole Foods. So Mark was very kind and went to Whole Foods while I stayed home and did my hip strengthening exercises. He came back with a fabulous vegan chocolate chip cookie from their bakery.

Do I have the best husband or what? And aren’t other yogis the best?!?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 19:47:36

    This bit: “I have reached a point where I generally do not want fans blowing on me. It makes me cold.” kinda makes me want to shake your shoulders a little bit so you’ll stop talking like a crazy person. 🙂

    I always have funny, conflicting thoughts about “sweating out toxins.” I mean, you’d think your classes would be awful if you started putting toxins INTO your body. By changing your diet to a (possibly) more healthy one, you’d think you’d be having the best classes of your LIFE, because there shouldn’t be any toxins to sweat out, you know?

    Clearly I have too much time on my hands. 🙂

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 07:35:21

      Ever since I practiced at BY San Diego (which was only four classes), I cannot generally stand the fans. They have no fans and no door love. That studio kicked my butt but in a very good way. Something changed in me after practicing there.

      Reply

  2. Penelope
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 21:02:07

    Hmm. Interesting. My run of bad classes were (have been, since they are ongoing) more along the lines of dizzy, exhausted, low energy than inflexible. (Well, I am not that flexible to begin with…) But I do wonder about the inflammation thing for other reasons, so… interesting.

    To the comment above – sometimes when a person eliminates something that is bad for them, they experience a healing crisis (Herxheimer reaction I believe is the term). Toxins are released but cannot be eliminated by the liver, kidneys, etc fast enough, so… they feel crappy until those organs catch up. That said, you really do not sweat out significant amounts of toxins. Toxins are processed by the liver and kidneys and are eliminated as waste! The sweat alone does very little in this regard. This is why we do Bikram yoga instead of just sitting in a sauna – because the postures actually do stimulate the “detoxing organs” to work better, and the hydration we do greatly helps the kidneys do their job.

    One more thing (what is it with me and loooong comments lately?)… eating out vegan style is, yeah, problematic to say the least. Recently, I went to a restaurant and ordered a vegan steak (which was really good and NOT just a giant mushroom – it was some sort of weird vegetable combo) and the sauce was made with cream!!! Seriously, people, what the???

    Reply

    • teenieyogini
      Feb 02, 2013 @ 21:53:52

      Your vegan steak and cream just made me crack up!

      Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 07:38:07

      On Friday, my worst class since starting the vegan challenge, I felt really, really barfy. Usually my bad classes are a lot like you described, but on Friday I didn’t get dizzy or exhausted. I just felt like I was going to throw up everywhere.I am interested to see if my flexibility improves during this month.

      Your restaurant clearly missed the boat. Vegan steak with cream? Too funny!

      Reply

  3. teenieyogini
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 21:54:35

    Other yogis are the best! Way to hold strong on the cake too!

    Reply

  4. teenieyogini
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 21:58:00

    Also. I HATE the fans (and when they prop the doors during the transition)! Haaaattttee it! I will even wrap myself up in my towel if they leave them propped for too long! We work so hard in the standing series to warm the body up… WHY would you freeze it back stiff right. before. The good stuff!

    Reply

    • Penelope
      Feb 02, 2013 @ 22:31:13

      I would “like” this comment if there were a button to do so! my studio doesn’t even have fans…. thank GOD. Really.

      Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 07:39:35

      Sometimes I set up in a back corner that is right by the door. It’s out of the range of the fans. I just need a change of pace now and then. I cannot put my mat in the same place every class. Anyways, I have been known to reach over and close the door when it gets propped open. No one has said anything to me yet so I think I’ll keep doing it. It gets cold!

      Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 21:27:51

    VC Day… http://t.co/f0JNcQeP5D #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

