VC Day 11: Back in the Game

So before I get into the vegan challenge, let’s talk yoga. Did you know that USA Yoga recently updated their information about how they score advanced postures? It’s very helpful to see. I am so happy they did that. It’s going to help me make decisions about my routine.

Anyways, that list says that my beloved mountain is worth nine points. NINE! That means it is super difficult. Now I feel better at not being able to master it right away. I will continue to work on it and see where I get, but this could take awhile (and by awhile I mean years).

I used the list to think about where I am currently at in my practice and what postures I am ready and willing to start developing. The willing part is important. I think you need to love the advanced postures you pick for your routine. I don’t want to learn a posture I don’t enjoy.

Right now, I’m leaning towards lifting lotus and upward stretching. I was amazed to see that upward stretching is worth seven points. I managed to get it to a decent (not seven point) level in only a month before competition. Ok, you won’t think that if you watch my video, but trust me it was pretty decent outside the actual competition. So I’m going to keep up with that one.

I wanted my second advanced posture to reflect strength. I am already working on lifting lotus, and I love the posture, so I’m sticking with that. Crow is worth one more point that lifting lotus. Whoop-de-do. I love lifting lotus more. Conflict resolved. I’m way more interested in spending my time on lifting lotus than I am on crow right now. Of course if I can work up a good mountain I’m tossing lifting lotus right out the window. 🙂

As far as my vegan challenge goes, I am in a good place today. I feel like I had a breakdown yesterday that was necessary and good. Today, it feels like I have crossed over a hump, and that’s a good thing! I’m also not feeling as tired and class was pretty good today. My postures were kind of crappy, but I felt good. I didn’t feel like I was being beaten down in the room which is how I have felt since the vegan challenge started. I think I might be turning a corner.

The other thing I realized is that I am not having food cravings. Even last night, when Mark asked me what I wanted, I wasn’t actually craving anything. Yes, I enjoyed my blue cheese. Yes, I miss blue cheese. But I am not craving it. It used to be that I would crave food on a regular basis and you know what I realized tonight? Everything I craved was something that had an animal product in it.  It’s very interesting that my food cravings have dropped. I get hungry, but I don’t crave particular kinds of food (except maybe my beloved Spread!).

Also, the other thing I realized is that being a vegan is freaking hard but might be worth it.

Tonight’s dinner luckily was not a disaster. It was easy. I have some bags of bombay potatoes that are for emergency use only. This was one of those times. Mark made it, and it turned out just fine.

Bombay Potatoes.

Bombay Potatoes.

It’s not going to rock your world or anything, but it gets the job done and was a whole lot better than anything I’ve made lately.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 21:23:12

    A couple things…

    There is nothing wrong with just eating mostly vegan, and “cheating” now and again. (I made a decision not to, for example, get super stressed if some store bought bread has some tiny amount of dairy product in it, and for me, this is helpful. For others, careful ingredient monitoring might stress them less.)

    Thanks for the link to the scoring on the advanced postures! I agree with picking postures that you love. This is why I do 10-15 cranes a day! 🙂 However, I am not all that consistent with my crane, so I am using crow as a backup. I can’t do upward stretching well at all. I just feel so wobbly. I have no idea what else to pick. Oh, and I saw a video of the New England champion demoing some advanced postures, and she did *not* nail mountain. I think that was the only posture she did not ge, actually!

    One more thought on the vegan thing… I read recently that you should master four recipes that you love. Apparently, most people don’t really eat a huge variety of animal products, but when we make a switch like this we somehow feel like we need to learn a million different things, which ends up being discouraging because it is so overwhelming. This makes sense to me.

    Reply

    • Simmm
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 09:33:50

      As you mentioned mastering four recipes, I just remembered one of our favorites is vegan: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Delicious-Black-Bean-Burritos/Detail.aspx

      I know the recipe calls for cream cheese, but if you own a blender, you can make your own “raw cream” by blending soaked raw cashews with a little bit of water. We love the stuff, and it’s so so easy and satisfying!

      Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 19:36:26

      I have to agree with you about the cheating. It definitely took away some stress. Can you really do crane? That’s amazing! You do that many most days?

      When I started upward stretching I was wobbly for a solid week. If you can put up with bring wobbly and falling every which way for a week or two I think you will find your balance. Then you can work on locking out your knees!

      I like the suggestion of mastering four recipes you love. That seems reasonable. I need some reason! Thanks.

      Reply

      • Penelope
        Feb 07, 2013 @ 11:21:05

        Well, I can *do* crane. I can’t always do it well, though. I have a lot of trouble keeping my left leg locked. It’s weird. I think that I feel the same way about crane as you do about mountain — I fell in love with it immediately, and I just knew that I was going to (eventually) master it even if it takes YEARS. And yes, I do that many 4-5 days a week. (The others I do five or so.) I find I need to do quite a few before I can manage a really good one.

        Thanks for the tip on upward stretching. I shall try it. I was beginning to despair of ever doing that posture correctly. Oh, and you might find this funny — I am now dreaming about advanced yoga postures that I can’t do. For instance, last night I dreamt I was doing full camels. Hahahahaha as if.

        Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 17:54:58

    VC Day 11: Back in the Game http://t.co/t9wwv3rFjh #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 24, 2014 @ 16:05:17

    VC Day 11: Back in the Game http://t.co/Ng232CV77g #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

