VC Day 19: Let’s Feast

Day 19 already? Well, I’m not surprised. Having done a 66-day Bikram challenge, and a 39-day Bikram streak recently, I knew this time would fly by. Taking on something for 30 days? Yeah, it can be hard but it is do-able. The time is gonna go by. And I was right. The time has gone by.

It’s not the remainder of the vegan challenge that’s got me nervous. It’s the weak that follows it.

Why? Because I am not able to leave well enough alone, that’s why.

The vegan challenge officially ends on Sunday, February 24th. On Monday, February 25th, I embark on a seven day juice feast. I’ve hired a coach fot this – the fantastic Courtney Pool. There is NO WAY I would consider doing something like this without a coach. I need someone to guide me.

You might be wondering how I decided to do this. Good question. I am too! šŸ™‚ It started when, during my vegan challenge, I wrote about my experiences juicing. Courtney found my blog and left a comment about the benefits of juicing. I wondered who she was, so I looked her up and discovered she coaches these juice feasts.

I had a email discussion with Courtney on why I was interested. Basically, it comes down to this:

(a) I want to see what it can do for my health and well-being

(b) I want to see what it can do for my practice

(c) I want to challenge my limits physically, mentally, and emotionally.

I am all about those three points, but the third one seems to be a new hobby of mine. I am in some kind of mode where I want to push myself in one or more of these ways. I will, of course, continue to blog during the feast, and I will angle my blog around these three points as best as my cognitive abilities allow for it. I’m not being negative. I’m being realistic. This could get ugly is all I’m saying.

As I understand it, I will drink a lot of juice for five days. On days six and seven I may drink juice (I don’t know), but I will also be having smoothies and reintroducing some food back into my life. Days six and seven are about transitioning back onto food I chew.

I feel like I should take bets for how long I can make it before I crack and have a complete meltdown. I made it 10 days into the vegan challenge before I lost it. I am just gonna guess that juice feasting is harder than vegan eating. I say I crack on Day 3. I did not say I would quit on Day 3. I’m not going to quit. I just said I would flip out and cry a lot. I am going to be SUCH a joy to be around. Slumber party at my house! šŸ™‚

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 22:38:33

    Hey! I have a great idea! Juice is vegan, so just do the last week of your vegan challenge as the juice feast, and this way you are finished a week earlier. I know, I am brilliant.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 14, 2013 @ 06:51:28

      That is a good idea, but I already made the decision not to do that. Since the vegan challenge is about eating actual food, I would feel like I was cheating myself. Plus. I dragged my husband into it so I want to finish together.

      Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 05:45:53

    VC Day 19: Let’s Feast http://t.co/6MgCwmXZSO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

