VC Day 20: Detox, Food, Bow

For Day 20, I have some observations to share with you about my vegan challenge and my floor bow.

Observation #1: The Detox

I understood that when I embarked on the vegan challenge I would be likely to experience some sort of a detox as my body cleaned itself up and out from all the animal products I had consumed over the years. And, well, I recently just climbed out of a big detox hole.

It started last week when I noticed I was gaining weight. Over the course of 2-3 days I gained almost five pounds, and it made no sense. I wasn’t eating in large quantities. I really didn’t think my diet was structured in such a way to warrant this. Plus, let’s face it, gaining five pounds that fast isn’t normal. I felt like a bloated cow.

On Monday I was about to crack. I was still bloated, I felt awful, and I could not understand what was going on. And then Tuesday came and uh…well…let’s just say a lot of stuff left my body. A LOT.

You might think things were just backed up a bit, but that wasn’t true at all. My digestive system seemed to be functioning totally normal during this whole process (note: I’m working hard to communicate the experience without getting gross about it).

Wednesday followed a similar process. Except add to it that I had broke out all over the bottom of my face and down one side of my neck.

This morning all the weight was gone. The zits are clearing up.

I had a bad class this morning though. My balance was all off, and I felt like I was going to puke most of the time, but I think I’m out the other end of it now. Crazy stuff.

Observation #2: Things I Don’t Buy

I had to go to the grocery store today. I went to Whole Foods first. Don’t do that on Valentine’s Day. It is a nut-house. I bought a couple of necessities and then back tracked the heck out of there to a typical grocery store. I zoomed down the asiles with my cart buying mostly beans, vegetables, and some vegetable broth to make soup again this week. I realized how many items I no longer stop to look at. There are so many items in the grocery store that don’t even make it on my radar. Mostly I think, “How will eating this serve me?” Truth is, most of the food found in a typical American grocery store will not serve me well. So on I go.

Observation #3: Floor Bow

Ok – so when I took class on Tuesday I thought I had a pretty good floor bow. It felt like I was kicking up higher than usual. Although class today stunk, my floor bow felt comprable to what I did on Tuesday. So after class I had another competitor take pictures of it.

For starter’s let’s look at my competition floor bow taken at the beginning of November 2012:

Floor Bow in November 2012

That is not the best bow. I already know that. But I could only focus on so much for my first competition. Bow got zero attention.

Here’s my bow today:

002

For all the stinking work I’ve done, I cannot tell much of a difference. I think my thighs might be off the floor a bit more. Maybe. I don’t know. The picture made me kind of sad. It didn’t match what I had going on in my head.

Critique away!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 19:11:01

    I see a difference! November is flatter. There’s def more arc in this weeks picture.

    Reply

  2. Linda bartosik
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 14:53:15

    Leigha if you look carefully there really is quite a difference! In Nov a lot of your stomach is flat on the floor and now you look like you’re balancing on your hips with a more definitive arch to your total back! Wow! Hard work paid off! You inspire me to go to class and not just dog it together through it but to pay attention to what I’m doing. ( I actually picture you in my head and say “What would Leigha be thinking now!) :)))))

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 15, 2013 @ 19:55:27

      Oh Linda thank you! That’s so nice of you to say that. Actually, tennieyogini edited my picture to show me the changes. I’m going to put it on my next post.

      Reply

  3. Christa Provenzano
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 16:52:54

    I definitely see a space between your chest and the floor that was not there in November. That is a huge accomplishment Leigh!!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trackback: VC Day 21: Teenie Fixes my Picture & We Plan a Party « My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. Trackback: VC Days 25 & 26: Panic in the Kitchen « My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 00:52:39

    VC Day 20: Detox, Food, Bow http://t.co/hUpjKcBypj #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

