VC Day 24: I’ve Got a Feast Coming!

Today I met with my juice feast coach, Courtney, for a little over an hour. We went over all the nuts and bolts of my feast and what to expect. First, you may be wondering what the difference is between a juice feast and a juice fast. In a nutshell, a juice fast limits the intake of calories. In a juice fast, you could expect to need a lot of rest and spend a lot of time doing nothing. You might be tired a lot. Courtney said that for this reason a lot of people will go to retreats where they can float around in a pool all day and take naps. It can be hard to do a 7-day juice fast and contend with regular life.

A juice feast then is the opposite. I want to literally feast on juice. I should be able to function in everday life just fine, but I could experience some diffculties. I might be tired. I might get a headache, but I should be taking in plenty of calories. Feasting allows for me to go about my daily life including continuing my Bikram practice.

Yes – I plan to sustain my current schedule of five Bikram classes per week, plus one advanced class, plus whatever I would be doing at home outside of class (which can vary). Yes, I will be telling you ALL about it.

My plan during the juice feast is to blog once a day, usually in the evening, and also to tweet about my experiences. You can find and follow me on twitter at LeighAHall if you want to keep up with the juice feast tweets! Too bad I can’t tweet directly from class. Can you imagine what I might say? 🙂

Of course a big question on my mind was how much juice to drink and how to think about hydration in relation to my Bikram practice. You should know that anything I say about this feast applies only to me. When I tell you about my hydration needs do not run out and apply them to yourself. This is what works for me or what we think will work for me.

So juicing – I am supposed to drink at least one gallon of juice each day with the bulk of that being green juice. I do plan on having one citrus juice each day, and that’s fine. One gallon comes down to about 125 ounces. I drink between 100-125 ounces of water each day to stay hydrated for Bikram. What does all this mean? Well, while juice is a form of hydration, in this case it is also my only way of getting nutrients. I am supposed to drink at least one gallon of juice and then my regular gallon-ish intake of water every day.

I really hope I can get a bathroom pass out of the hot room. It could be a legitimate need. 🙂 And for the record, I will not be peeing on my mat. Yes, there are people who actually pee on their mat because they have to go and are committed to staying in the room. I know two of them personally. I really don’t want it to come down to that, but the thought has crossed my mind. What if I drink so much that my choice is flee the room or pee on my mat or be in severe pain? I am just letting that thought go. If it becomes a reality, we’ll see what I do (so stay tuned!).

Vote for Me!

Finally, vote for me for best local blog in the triangle: http://www.indyweek.com/indyweek/BestoftheTriangle/Page Just write in, “My Birkam Yoga Life” when asked about best blog. This is a great way to raise awareness for Bikram yoga and healthy living (and crazy issues like peeing on yoga mats!).

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 17:55:00

    People actually pee on their mats??? I had no idea, though I should not be surprised since I know people who pee off the sides of their bikes in triathlons.

    The only time I have ever left the hot room was to pee. I thought I might die otherwise.

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 18:34:15

    I am FREAKING OUT! People PEE ON THEIR MATS? I don’t understand. The bathroom is RIGHT THERE. There is no reason to pee on one’s mat. This isn’t a marathon where peeing on yourself is the difference between first and second place. For the love of god, WHAT IS HAPPENING IN OUR HOT ROOMS?

    Clearly this has pushed me over the edge. 🙂 I can’t even focus on the rest of your post.

    Reply

  3. leela
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 21:50:02

    Yuck to mat peeing. That is so unsanitary. Really just unbelievably gross. How do people react to this? Do you avoid standing next to these people? Is this allowed at your studio? There is no mat peeing at my studio. I am freaked out right now about this. I just don’t know what to think. I feel like I need to reread your post to see if I imagined this.

    Reply

  4. teenieyogini
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 22:33:31

    I too am shocked by the mat peeing! GROSS! I practice at one studio where the bathroom, showers and laundry are all IN the hot room, so you can stay committed without resorting that! And the new studio has locker rooms, but there is a bathroom in the hot room too.

    Everyone’s comments made me laugh!

    Reply

    • Simmm
      Feb 20, 2013 @ 11:24:55

      Say whaaa? So during class, people get up and go to the bathroom and you can hear them pee and flush? o__O

      I’ve only ever heard of people peeing on their mats at teacher training, not in a regular class. Yeah, that’s not going to happen for me. Though I can’t say I’ve ever had to pee that badly in class. I usually go about 10 mins before class starts.

      Reply

      • teenieyogini
        Feb 20, 2013 @ 11:45:58

        I’ve never overheard any going or flushing… But I’m deaf. Actually I never considered that possibility before. I used it during class for the first time this week.

        Reply

  5. leela
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 17:01:22

    Haha teenie that was cute! So, I have been really tossing this around and I keep coming back to the following thoughts:
    1. If someone has to pee so bad that they can’t hold it, then their bladder is probably pretty full and there is NO WAY it is all going to stay on the mat.. which leads me to my second thought..
    2. Who cleans the floor? WHO? Because I just can’t imagine many people cleaning up a capable adults urine? I mean we are talking about yogis/yoga teachers here not nurses (who sometimes have to clean up adult urine, but that of INCAPABLE adults who NEED assistance not sickos who piss the floor to prove a point) Which brings me to my third thought on this craziness…
    3. There is no way they are cleaning and sanitizing the carpet/flooring in between every class. So basically what you are saying is that every time you go into your yoga studio and put your mat down, you are taking a chance that you are laying in someone else’s PEE? OMG.. I just don’t know if I could cope with that.

    Reply

  6. loribruner
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 22:10:13

    This entire thread made my week.

    Reply

  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 05:48:39

    VC Day 24: I’ve Got a Feast Coming! http://t.co/CJhOrVTQHh #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  8. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 09:44:13

    VC Day 24: I’ve Got a Feast Coming! http://t.co/CJhOrWbrPl #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

