VC Days 25 & 26: Panic in the Kitchen

So yesterday (Day 25) I decided to run up to Whole Foods for a minute. While I was there, I got one grapefuit, three oranges, and one lemon to juice this morning for breakfast. In addition to these items, I bought one other item that was around 11.00. My total bill was just over 18.00 leaving me to conclude that my morning breakfast was 7.00 (give or take. we’re going for the gist here). This caused me to come home and have a panic attack in my kitchen. It’s not a big deal if I spend 7.00 to juice ONE breakfast every now and then. That was not the source of my panic. Nope. My panic was about how much money I would spend during the juice feast.

I knew that my little purchase would not produce 32 ounces of juice which is what I need to have first thing in the morning. My plan was to have one citrus juice a day and then have the remainder of my juice (about 96 ounces) be a green juice. It turns out that I was able to get 20 ounces out of what I bought, and I had one orange left over. So I’m guessing breakfast would run me around 10.00 a day to have a citrus juice for breakfast.

$10.00 a day (for JUST breakfast) X 7 days + the remainder of the juice I need = Panic Attack in the Kitchen

Mark immediately suggested I not go to Whole Foods. Reasonable enough, but what could I expect to spend for the week? This is why I went running out to the grocery store like a crazy woman at 8:30 pm last night to a typical chain grocery store. I whipped out a calculator and began doing some estimating. I found I could buy bags of grapefruit and oranges that would be much cheaper. I calculated how much celery cost (I have to juice one whole head a day) and how much a pound of kale is (I have to juice at least two pounds of leafy greens like kale each day). I figured out how much cucumbers were when they are NOT on sale (assume the worst!) and guessed how many I might need.

In the end, I guessed I could stay within 100-150.00 budget for the week. That’s expensive – it’s just my bill alone! – but doable and calmed me down some.

However, I can only imagine what I must have looked liked. Crazy woman darting around the produce section, mumbling to herself, caluclator in hand, and then suddenly leaving the store without buying anything. Who goes into a grocery store just to window shop?

Blow Out Mac-n-Cheeze

It was my mission to make a fantastic vegan mac and cheese during this challenge. Well, sadly, I did not get there. I tried again tonight with a different recipe, but it did not work out. This recipe called for, among other items, a jar of roasted red peppers. Well, it just made the whole thing taste like macaroni covered in red peppers. It wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t anything I wanted to eat.

Not Worth My Stomach Space

Not Worth My Stomach Space

The good news is I did not have a meltdown this time. I just let it go, and we went out to eat. We went somewhere that has (what looks like) exceptional mac and cheese. Not vegan, but I was ok with that. I had eyed this mac and cheese at least three times during this challenge. It’s one of those places where you go up to the counter to order, but a lot of the food is served right there in front of you. This mac and cheese had looked so delicious time and time again. So we went there. Mark planned to eat vegan.

Well, that mac and cheese looked like crap tonight. There was no sauce. It looked all dried up and cheeseless. This is actually a criticism I have with this place is that they lack consistency. When they are good they are very good, but when they aren’t, meh. Better to go somewhere else.

So I went back to Nosh, home of the accidental bacon salad. I ordered the accidental bacon salad again. Do you know what I learned? That salad has egg on it too. I am sure it has always been there, but I must have gotten more of it this time than last. Do you know what else I learned? I don’t like egg anymore. Interesting.

For the record, the quest to find a good vegan mac and cheeze recipe will continue on. I have some ideas about what to try next.

Ka-Bloooie!

Guess who bloated up again? Me. However, it wasn’t as bad this time around. This time, I gained three pounds over a period of two days and then dropped it all on day three. It was the same basic thing as what happened to me before, but on a lesser scale. I think that’s pretty interesting.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meredith
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 15:01:33

    You’d be surprised at what you find when you do a juice cleanse (either fast of feast). I love the idea of having a coach for it though. I’ve done 5 day feasts in the past and know how hard the first three days can be.

    I just want to say how inspiring your blog has been to me. I’ve been a big yogi in the past and have just discovered the studio. Your commitment to challenge your boundaries have made me decide to push myself to try something new. Just wanted to say thanks and I look forward to seeing you in class!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 21, 2013 @ 21:10:48

      I am worried about the first few days! Hopefully it’ll get easier at some point. I am nervous. Thanks so much for your comment. Please say hi when you see me!

      Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 13:16:02

    VC Days 25 & 26: Panic in the… http://t.co/gbuwuOjmkz #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

