Juice Feast Day 3: Chocolate Buffet!

On day 2, and continuing on to day 3, I started experiencing cravings. They are very interesting. So I now present to you my cravings over the last 48 hours:

– a spicy chicken sandwich (this one comes up a lot)

– onion rings

– a kitkat

– cadbury creme eggs

– dill pickles

– bacon cheeseburger

– a plain hamburger (just a piece of meat between two buns!)

– a glazed doughnut

Note how specific my cravings are. I don’t crave chicken. I crave a spicy chicken sandwich. I don’t crave chocolate. I crave a kitkat and creme eggs. Interesting, right? These cravings don’t irritate me. I know they are mental. When I get them, the first thing I do is check in to see if I am hungry. Nope. Never feeling hungry. The cravings are interesting.

I also have mad, crazy dreams. My favorite dream is about the chocolate buffet. The chocolate buffet looks just like any other buffet except all they serve is chocolate. I had a glorious time at the chocolate buffet.

I had a second dream (also a buffet dream!) where I was presented with a giant bacon cheeseburger. I denied it, but then the person showed me a smaller version, and I snatched it up. It was also delicious.

Crash & Burn

The first two days of the feast went about as I expected. The first day I was a bit tired, grumpy, and had a headache. The second day I felt amazing! I went to class. I was a bit scared to go to class, but it went well. I got dizzy, and there were some momenta when I stopped the posture early and focused on my breath. All, in all, a good time.

This morning I got up and felt ok. I had to go to work early (left around 7:00 am). It’s about a half mile walk from my car to my office. I don’t mind this. In fact, I once got bumped to a closer spot and asked to be moved back. I like the walk. It’s relaxing.

Today I was about one block away from my office when I felt really, really bad. I was starting to get dizzy and walking didn’t seem like a good thing. But I got there, sat down, and all was fine. I taught a morning class and drank two juices and some water during that time. My idea after class was to go to the store to get more produce, come home, and do more work.

Well, I got back to the car and didn’t feel so good again. By the time I got to the store I was not feeling good. I was dizzy and really out of it. I decided to check my blood pressure. In the back of my head, I thought it was probably fine. But I told myself if I checked it I would realize it was fine and then I would feel better.

It was not fine. It was low. I called Mark and we figured out a bananna might be a good thing to eat. I got the produce I had come in for plus some banannas and some other items. On the way out I decided to get some soup. Mark thought maybe I needed more salt. What has a bunch of salt? Campbell’s soup. Didn’t say it was a good thing to eat. Just sayin’ it has a lot of sodium. Plus, my brain was shutting down, and I couldn’t think to well.

I grabbed two cans of soup and headed up the aisle to the register. On my way, I walked past the pasta. This is normal. The pasta and the soup are in the same aisle. I know this. However, when I saw all of the pasta I stopped for a moment. What is all this pasta doing here? Where am I? I mean, I knew I was in the grocery store but suddenly I didn’t know where I was in relation to the check out. In reality, I could have thrown a box of pasta and hit a cashier. Yep. Things are not looking great.

I get to the check out and realize I am not sure if I should continue on with the feast. However, I also have my cart loaded up with produce to juice. I decide this is to complex a decision to make and buy everything.

I manage to get myself checked out and home. I brought in some bags and placed them on the dining room table. I placed the rest on the kitchen counter. I unloaded all the bags on the kitchen counter and realized I was missing some items (they were on the table). I went back to the car and could not find any bags there. I then concluded I must have left them in the cart at the grocery store. I decided to not go back for them. I thought about calling the grocery story but didn’t feel capabale.

So imagine my surprise when I found all the missing items on my table! And then imagine my concern about my cognitive functioning.

I ate the bananna. I ate my soup. I took a 30 minute nap. I felt better. A lot better. My brain came back online.

I talked to my coach and in the end was left with a decision to make. Do I continue on with the feast or do I stop? Do I pick back up where I left off, make some adjustments based on what I experienced today or do I stop here? That’s what I’m pondering….

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 19:53:52

    I’m glad you broke the feast long enough to reignite the brain functions!!!! No dying allowed before our party!!!

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 20:13:23

    Whew! What a rotten day!!! As a diabetic, I totally understand that feeling you were having. It’s really weird when your brain starts to shut down. Having an honest-to-goodness “where am I?” feeling is bizarre.

    It’s too bad you can’t find out in advance exactly what the proper make-up of your juices needs to be for YOU. The right amount of sugar, the right salt, the right time-quantity ratio.

    Whatever you decide, you know we’re all behind you!

    Reply

  3. Storm
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 20:15:04

    Wow. I’ve only had one experience kind of like that. After juicing for two days then working out, my legs felt weak. Your experience sounds super intense though.

    Reply

  4. bigtony111111111
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 20:28:25

    Pretty clear sign that you should stop. You must be missing some nutrients or it have a proper balance. In the levels you are consuming it’s very possible for you to give yourself water poisoning/intoxication (google it); based on the description of how much you are drinking in a day plus the symptoms you described it sounds like you almost died today.

    Reply

  5. loribruner
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 21:24:06

    I know you love a good challenge, and I know you love pushing yourself and your boundaries. But from my own experience, sometimes the biggest challenge of all is knowing when you should stop pushing…

    Reply

  6. leela
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 21:27:20

    I think you are going to be alright. You know though, you have what seems to be a really busy life. Most people who go on juice feasts/fasts usually take off of work and go somewhere secluded to do it. You have to do a lot of resting on this kind of diet. You are so awesome about staying disciplined about the goals and challenges you set up for yourself but maybe this one you should set aside for a time when you can experience it at a slower pace. Everyone I have ever known who has fasted goes a bit slower when they are doing it. If you stick with it you will probably be fine, you only have a couple more days but maybe you could cut something else out of your day so you can let your body rest as it detoxes. I hope you are doing better now! Good luck.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Feb 28, 2013 @ 19:56:58

      Leela, you’re right. Most people usually slow down during a feast/fast. However, I chose a feast over a fast with the understanding that I could still live my life. Yes, I might have to slow down some, but I expected to be able to carry out my normal Bikramming and so on. I knew I might be tired or might need to go to bed early – things like that. I am much better today. Thanks!

      Reply

  7. Courtney Pool (@CourtneyPool)
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 20:56:51

    You did so wonderfully, Leigh! Congratulations on your 3-day Juice Feast. For anyone wondering, regular colon cleansing, adding salt to juices, and drinking a ton of juice are things that can help with Bikram yoga while Juice Feasting!

    Reply

  8. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 20:39:25

    Juice Feast Day 3: Chocolate Buffet! http://t.co/5CxAZxIooA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  9. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 03:08:09

    Juice Feast Day 3: Chocolate Buffet! http://t.co/cK9iEfi2Vp #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

