And….I’m Out

I pulled the plug on my juice feast. My coach felt like there were some changes we could make that could keep me in the game, but yesterday seriously freaked me out. I decided I needed to stop. Last night I had some more juice and a small salad. I felt better.

Today I had actual food for breakfast and then went to class as I normally do. I think I finally have a handle on what it means to give your own personal 100%. On the outside, it probably looked like I was giving 50-75% of my normal self. But I wasn’t. I was giving my 100% for that day. I wasn’t completely back online yet mentally or physically after yesterday. I took it slow. I paced myself. There were times I got dizzy or felt really whacked out mentally. When that happened I sat down or did savassanah. The result was that class was fine.

For lunch today I went to my beloved Salsa Fresh and had actual cheese. I had a cheese quesadilla with a side of queso dip to dunk it in. I had chips and salsa. It was wonderful.

That said, I am not going whole hog back on the dairy. I like how I feel when I don’t eat dairy. I am though implementing my new rule which says that I am vegan at home and a vegetarian/vegan when I am outside the home. I eat at home more than I eat out, and when I go to my office I often bring my lunch with me so I’ll be eating more vegan meals than not.

I definitely don’t consider my stopping the feast a failure. I know you all don’t either, and I really do appreciate all the support I received yesterday. It meant a lot. I felt like such crap yesterday. Thanks for the kind words. I wanted to make the point about not being a failureĀ  though because it goes beyond this feast. Anytime we try something new, be it a juice feast or more Bikram classes, or whatever we never really know what to expect. Just trying it and seeing what it brings, and being open to what it brings, is important. It’s how we learn and grow. I may not do a juice feast again anytime soon (or ever), but I have learned a lot about myself and a lot about juicing. Here are some things I learned:

– juicing red leaf lettuce is amazing. do yourself a favor and put it with some cucumber, lemon, and ginger.

– pineapple in green juice is wonderfully delicious

– I may get cravings for particular kinds of food, but I am capabale of not letting those cravings break me down. I can simply notice them and move on. My mind my be trying to get the best of me, but I am stronger than I realize

– Everyday is a new day and a new chance to get back up and start all over or go in a completely new direction. Enjoy the journey and pay attention.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Storm
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 21:00:08

    Do what is right for your body. You could always juice one or if you’re up to it, two meals a day and eat portioned meals the rest of the day.

    Reply

  2. Penelope
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 21:02:45

    You did marvellously. Sometimes you need to know when NOT to push yourself in a certain direction. Like another commenter wrote, you do seem to have a pretty busy life, and perhaps there will be a time after the semester is over that you could try this again, or not. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with being mostly vegan, and having cheese when you really, really want it. (I call it “vegan-ish”. Is that a real thing?)

    Reply

  3. teenieyogini
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 22:20:37

    You said the other day, you challenge yourself to honor yourself and strive for improved health… It seems to me, that that is exactly what you have done by pulling the plug on this one. Way to stay true to your self and your aspirations! I’m proud of you!

    (And happy to know you won’t be kicking the bucket before our yoga party!)

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 01, 2013 @ 08:31:31

      Thanks teenie! So excited about the upcoming yoga party. One of the competitors at my studio reads your blog and wishes she could come along too. She so admires you.

      Reply

      • teenieyogini
        Mar 01, 2013 @ 09:07:51

        I wish she could too! But my brother is moving your way in the fall. So I can come practice there, when I visit him!

        Reply

  4. teenieyogini
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 22:24:46

    I do that All. The. Time!

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 13:47:42

    And….I’m Out http://t.co/OMzt334hKA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 08:20:07

    And….I’m Out http://t.co/OMzt33lSSE #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

