Are You Watching?

Are you watching the USA Yoga national competition today? I’ve been in and out of it. I scheduled a facial right in the middle of the day. I got to watch some of the men’s and have been watching some of the women’s. It’s amazing.

When I tuned in to the men’s around noon a lot of them were falling out of their postures. Someone made a comment on the chat feed about why these guys were falling out. Someone else pointed out it was likely nerves. Another person pointed out that even though these guys were falling out, they were all getting back into the posture for a second try. No one was packing it in and giving up. Everyone kept going.

I was impressed by how these guys kept going even when they fell out. Each time they got to a new posture I felt like they were giving it their all and had not given up even if it was clear that their stumbles meant they would not qualify for the next round. I could also relate to the nerves issue. I was terrified being up on stage in front of 100 people and it definitely showed. Of course no one else seems to remember how nervous I was, but I remember. I was inside out bones to skin shaking! 🙂

Everyone who got up on that stage was good. Otherwise they would not be on that stage. While they are all judged on their postures, it’s not only about the postures. The postures can inspire us and show us what the human body can do. I also learned a few things about my own practice by watching. However, I also learned a lot about poise and persistance by watching how competitors responded when they stumbled. I respect them so much for the focus and dedication they gave to each and every posture no matter what the one before it may have looked liked. They helped remind me of the importance of being in the moment and, when the moment is over, letting it go and being in the next.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 07:13:50

    I was watching!!!!!
    I’d probably pass out up there… With Emmy, Esak, Joseph, etc all sitting in the front row watching me.
    Did they stream the stage during the breaks?

    Reply

  2. MIke Mitchell
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 14:37:33

    I watched most of both days and it was awesome. If you missed anything, it’s all on the usa yoga website. You can scroll fwd/back to catch anyone you’re looking for in particular. The demonstration by past champions is a MUST SEE–beyond phenomenal!

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 07:55:32

    Are You Watching? http://t.co/Su3RpGdiTS #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 14:34:50

    Are You Watching? http://t.co/Tte0p2qwdO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

