Favorite Things: Elete Electrolytes

I am a huge fan of Elete Electrolytes. I use their tablytes which you can also get through amazon. I started taking the tablytes about two weeks into my 66-day challenge last year. I knew something was a bit off when I was licking frosting off cupcakes and chucking the actual cake part on the trash.

As any Bikram person knows, electrolyte balance and replacement is a huge deal. For me, I need all the extra help I can get with adding back in potassium and magnesium. I take anywhere from 2-4 tablets a day depending on how much I have been practicing, my diet, and how I am feeling. The directions say you can take up to 12 tablets a day, but I’ve never even come close to that amount.

Recently I tried Yoga Fuel which I also found to be really good. The good thing about yoga fuel is it had B12 in it. As a vegetarian, I have to take a B12 supplement. I was hopeful that I could start taking Yoga Fuel (in place of Elete) and then drop the extra B12 supplement. Hey, it’s one less pill to swallow!

While I loved Yoga Fuel (it left me feeling super focused), it lacked the potassium that Elete has. With Yoga Fuel, you can take one or two capsules a day, but it doesn’t give you much in the way of potassium. One tablet of Elete doesn’t provide a lot of potassium either. However, the difference is you are not supposed to take more than two Yoga Fuel capsules a day whereas I can take a ton of Elete if I need it. The downside to Elete is it does not have the B12. So I had to choose, and I chose Elete. I would rather be able to get the extra potassium in me when I need it (and I do need it) and take the extra B12 supplement.

All that being said, electrolyte replacement is a personal thing. You have to figure out what your needs are and go with the product or whatever it is that it going to keep you balanced.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kerryalina
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 20:25:56

    My studio sells Nuun tablets and I’m a HUGE fan – they’re super tasty and easy to chuck in my yoga bag 🙂 I also took a bunch to Burning Man and handed them out to all the dehydrated people in the desert – instant hit! They’ve got potassium and B12 in them too, so they might be a good option for you? http://nuun.com/products

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 09:38:05

    These look interesting. Thanks for suggestion them. I may have to give them a try.

    Reply

  3. MIke Mitchell
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 10:31:06

    I haven’t seen or heard of any of this stuff. Sounds great. I’ll definitely look into it. I’m good at drinking lots and lots of water during day, before and after class but these supplements sound like they might be good.

    Reply

  4. Jenny miles
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 01:52:39

    Wow bikram is only to be know with his hot bikram yoga but now with this fuel. will try it. Supplements do help to get all the lost vit in the body. Let grow healtier and clamer.

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 15:40:41

    Favorite Things: Elete Electrolytes http://t.co/t9wUxFiz57 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

