Yogi on the Road

I’m back from visting my brother! It was a fun trip, and I actually survived without doing yoga for two whole days. 🙂 On the way down, I stopped off at Teenie’s place and did a class. That was a brilliant idea. I had already driven about 5-6 hours the night before and spent the night. The next day I drove 2 hours, took class, and then continued on another 2 hours to make it to my brother’s. Class felt amazing. It always feels so good to stretch everything out when you’ve been on the road.

I decided to go off the wagon on my little excursion. This ended up meaning I had meat, dairy, and alcohol. None of this was in large quantities, but it had an immediate impact on my body. I started eating meat, dairy, etc.. on Thursday and continued through Saturday. The result? I was puffy, bloated, and definitely retaining water. I converted back to a vegan diet on Sunday (and no alcohol) and stayed that way until I took class with Teenie Monday night (I had blue cheese at dinner Monday night!). After just 24 hours of going back to a vegan diet I felt so much better, and class was amazing.

Teenie already did an excellent job documenting our yoga party. I don’t have anything to add. Check her out if you want to learn about our time together. She’s as amazing as you might imagine. Probably more so.

In addition to not feeling great, I noticed that I don’t really care for meat anymore, and I can live without the dairy. For example, on my trip I had a fantastic cuban sandwich. I grew up on cuban sandwiches as a child in Tampa, and I had already decided that having one or two a year was not going to hurt me. The place we got the sandwich from was fantastic. It was also gigantic and required me to work on it for several days. It made me think of Homer Simpson’s giant sandwich (except I didn’t get sick!). It was loaded up with meat.

Here’s the thing: If you like cubans then this was an amazing sandwich. But for me, it was the moment when I realized that I am totally over eating meat. I am just not interested in it anymore. I’m home now, back to being primarily vegan (not all the time, but at least 75%), and I’m feeling fabulous. I never imagined myself being vegan, and now I’m realizing I don’t want to imagine myself the way I was before.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 21:52:25

    I know what you mean about meat! I have never been a big meat eater, but I have a weakness for burgers. Last Sunday was the last day I am *allowed* to eat meat until Pascha, and I kept threatening to get a smashburger. Even though I don’t eat meat. In the end, I didn’t eat it, didn’t regret not eating it.

    I am glad you had a great trip!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 13, 2013 @ 18:33:32

      I had a cheese-based sauce on some pasta this evening and now I feel kind of bloated and generally icky. I think it might have been worth it though. 🙂 I do miss a good burger, but I think now it’s all in my head. I bet if I ate it I would discover I didn’t miss it like I thought.

      Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 20:46:06

    Yogi on the Road http://t.co/Gi2yEiuhEY #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

