Favorite Things: Breathe Mats

I don’t remember when I purchased my first, orange, breathe mat. All I know is I fell in love with it immediately. What’s not to love about a mat that doubles as a towel all in one? Perfect for a Bikram class. I had grown tired of cleaning my rubber mat/towel combo. I think it may have been laziness that spurred me to purchase a breathe mat. I was tired of cleaning the rubber mat AND the towel day in and day out. The breathe mat made it so easy. Just toss the whole thing in the washer, then toss it in the dryer, and DONE!

So, for cleaning purposes alone I love the breathe mat. However, a slight confession is needed at this point. My studio will, for a fee, clean your mat for you. So while I say that the breathe mat is awesome just because I think it’s more efficient to clean, keep in mind I no longer clean it. I deposit it in a hamper after class and pick it back up next time. Honestly, I go so much that I probably save us money on utilities by paying the studio to clean it.

Anyways, cleaning aside I still love my breathe mat and cannot fathom going back to a rubber mat/towel combo. My mat stays in place. A towel can bunch up. My mat is more comfortable than a rubber mat with a towel on top. I don’t know why it’s that way. It just is.

I purchased a second breathe mat (yellow) when I did a week of doubles. At that point I wasn’t enrolled in the mat cleaning service (I have no idea why not) and thought this was better than washing one mat twice a day. I was right about that. For some reason, I decided I liked my yellow mat better and that’s the one I use constantly. I’ve been using the heck out of it for about 14 months now, and it is still going strong. It’s also not stinky. My point being that these things hold up over time.

Do you have a breathe mat? Do you use something else? What are your thoughts about mats in class?

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 19:13:02

    I love breathe mats, too. I have the package where I get free mat and towel rental, which is awesome, but full disclosure: I am gross. I need a breathe mat with at least one and often two towels on top. (I know. Gross.)

    Reply

  2. teenieyogini
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 19:16:43

    I want the pink WayMat (same general idea, but local). I keep texting my mom pictures if it. I’ve noticed that the folks who use one piece mats in advanced spend much less time all tangled up and/or sliding around.

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 11:17:29

    Breathe mats are AMAZING!! On year 2 of my Pink mat, all smiles πŸ™‚
    Tried a WayMat the other day, it is not waterproof like the Breathe mat and bunched up 😦
    Can’t wait for new Breathe Colors this Spring…..

    Reply

  4. Meg
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 12:17:04

    About 6 months ago I started using an eQua towel (from Manduka) over my sticky mat during the standing series and trading it out for a regular old towel for the floor series. It’s working really well for me, much better than the “hot yoga rug” type thing I had been using. The eQua towel is thin enough that I don’t feel squishy for balancing but doesn’t slide all over (either between towel and mat or between me and towel!). I use a regular towel for floor series because I don’t really care if it gets completely gross from me laying all over it. I don’t have evidence that my eQua towel would get gross — I just have plenty of junky towels that I care less about.

    Reply

  5. bitchingaboutbikram
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 14:41:09

    I would LOVE to have a Breathe mat, but I don’t have my own washer/dryer, which means it makes more sense for me to use towels and build up the laundry. When I’m finally a real grown-up, though? I’m totally getting a breathe mat.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 14, 2013 @ 16:50:15

      Yeah, if you don’t have a washer/dryer it doesn’t make sense. Then it would only work if your studio had a mat cleaning service. If you go often enough, a mat cleaning service it way worth it.

      Reply

  6. MIke Mitchell
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 21:30:43

    I will definitely look into the Breathe mat. I think I’ve seen them in my studio but wasn’t familiar with them specifically. I sweat buckets and practice every day on average (missed days are made up with doubles). I’m still using my gaia thirsty towels that I got almost 2 years ago when I first started. They are holding up remarkably well although they may be losing a little absorbency. I usually add a regular towel on top if I do back to back classes and my mat is pretty well soaked through. Apart from that I love my thirsty towels. They work great and stay on the mat fairly well. Never done advanced just the basic Bikram class so I don’t know if the advanced postures would make my towel slide around more or not. I’m getting ready for an upgrade and thinking the Breathe mat may be the way to go. Fairly reasonably priced too.

    BTW, Esak is coming to my studio in Oak Park (Chicago) in May for a posture clinic, not “Fight Club”, but I’m really looking forward to it. Watched him and the others in the performance of past champions at Nationals in NYC a couple weeks ago. They were all so amazing.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 15, 2013 @ 12:29:58

      Mike, you will have to fill us in our your Esak experience. I will look forward to hearing about it! He’s coming to North Carolina soon, but not to my studio. I decided to save the money to pay for a trip to the women’s retreat in August. It’s hard passing up the Esak clinic, but that’s a good 100.00 I can use for the retreat!

      The breathe mats have the rabbit flap which helps out in that posture. You just flip it right over your feet.

      Reply

  7. Mark
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 15:52:01

    There simply is no substitute for a Breathe mat. Period. I must admit that when I am practicing Sumits I miss my Breathe mat (the flooring is slick, not carpeted, and the Breathe mat slides around… must use a sticky mat and towels instead). The Breathe mat is far more absorbent than a couple of towels and a sticky mat. After reading your post on the nail mat I am going to find one of those, too!!

    Namaste.

    Reply

  8. Linda bartosik
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 18:49:07

    LUV LUV LUV my breathe mat. Used blue for two years
    , washed and dried daily til stuffing fell of hole worn through the wording. Now I have a gorgeous turquoise one that says Bikram yoga on it and the o in yoga is bright red – my focal point for toe stand. Aren’t they super cuddly during the floor series on a cold winter day? ☺

    Reply

  9. Rochelle
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 12:55:13

    Linda, where did you purchase your breathe mat? I would love one like yours. ~ Rochelle

    Reply

  10. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 06:20:42

    Favorite Things: Breathe Mats http://t.co/iJDYc3Bpcx #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  11. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 04:18:10

    Favorite Things: Breathe Mats http://t.co/p7IswnhOTy #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

