Does This Nail Mat Make Me Look Like a Crazy Person?

Last Thursday I left North Carolina to visit my brother. I drove (10 hours!). On Thursday, I drove about 5 1/2 hours before finding a place to stop and sleep. Although I had taken class that morning, my back ached from the drive. I was dying to get settled and lay down on my nail mat.

Of courseĀ I travel with my nail mat. It’s essential. I even took it with me to San Diego. It can easily be tossed into a car or packed in a bag (I check the bag to ensure there are zero problems). After a long day of driving or flying it feels amazing to lay on and yes, it really does help. 20-30 minutes on my nail mat Thursday night help my stiffness go away and got me feeling very relaxed. I had a nice sleep. I get pissy if I go somewhere and realize I left it at home.

The next morning I was up early and headed out the door. I went down the elevator with my suitcase in one hand and nail mat in the other. All I needed to do was skip out a side door, but I saw people milling around the lobby. I wondered if there might be free food and decided to go check it out.

So there I was, wandering around the lobby with my nail mat trying to see what there was to see. I wasn’t thinking about anything except locating food. At some point I noticed there were four other people in the lobby with me. They had all been getting coffee (turns out there was no food) and had stopped what they were doing to stare at me – or stare at my mat.

What's unusual about dragging this around a hotel lobby?

What’s unusual about dragging this around a hotel lobby?

Because I think a nail mat is a perfectly normal accessory to have, and one that any person would choose to travel with, I could not figure out why all these people had come to a halt and were staring at me. It was then that the following conversation happened:

Me: Uh…I was just wondering if there was any food down here.

[silence]

Me: You know, like a free breakfast or something. But I guess it’s just coffee huh?

Woman (points at nail mat): What is that thing?

Me: Huh? Oh, this? It’s a nail mat. You lay on it. I had a long drive yesterday and my back was sore. I laid on the mat and felt better.

[silence]

Me: I guess I must look kinda strange dragging this thing around the lobby, huh? Hadn’t really thought about that!

[silence]

And I exit……

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 13:02:31

    Shoulda asked if she wanted to try it!

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 15:05:12

    That’s hilarious!

    Reply

  3. Enid
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 16:07:36

    I like the sound of a nail mat!

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 20:02:37

    Does This Nail… http://t.co/a6tB6rBepM #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 21:31:23

    Does This Nail… http://t.co/a6tB6ss1NY #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

