A Walk in the Clouds

Yesterday I decided to do a double. I blame Teenie for this since she does them all the time. I think all the talking we did about her doubles at our yoga party got the idea stuck in my head. I also realized I had not done a double in about eight months. What the heck is that about? Time to get with it.

Since it’d been awhile, I decided to see what others were saying about doing doubles. So I googled it and found – myself. Yep. I found my own post about doing doubles. Depending on how you search, I come up either first or fourth. Anyways, I read myself to see what I had to say about doing doubles (kind of a strange experience!). I give some pretty good advice, but I found this point to stand out the most:

Take the class. In the Saturday morning class I showed up and took the class. I didn’t try to go easy on myself because I was coming back at 3:00. I just did whatever it is I normally do. Then I went back at 3:00 and took that class. It is no different than any other day except it’s interesting to see what your body does across the classes.

I like the point of taking the class. Just show up and take the class and let the class be whatever it is going to be. Don’t try to overdo it, and definitely don’t try to under do it.  Just go do it.

On Friday I took the 9:00 and the 4:30. The 9:00 class was nothing special. Just a class. My brain was a bit weirded out about doing a double, but you know how that goes. My brain is super annoying and generally gets in my way. So I set up in the back row next to an awesome yogi buddy. I knew practicing next to him would make me happy, and of course I was right.

Then I came back to do the 4:30. Of course I told my 4:30 instructor that this was my second class of the day. I explained that since it was the last day of spring break, and I hadn’t done a double in eight months, I thought it would be fun to do.

She said, “You mean you didn’t want to do anything else like bake something?”

Cracked me up.

You have to know that I have a slight talent for baking. I will often bring treats to the studio. Here’s some evidence by way of a cake I recently made (which I think most of y’all have already seen):

Rainbow Cake

Rainbow Cake

If you want to make this cake (and it’s easy!), you can go here. So it’s understandable why my instructor might have asked why I didn’t bake something instead of taking a second class. This cake is delicious!

But I did not stay home and bake. I showed up for a second class, and it was amazing. It was like floating in a cloud. I just skipped my way through class. Poses that usually give me trouble (ALL of awkward for example) were noticeably easier the second time around. I had a great standing head to knee. I had an amazing rabbit. My floor bow might even have been a bit better.

At the end of class I wondered why I didn’t do double more often. I’ve decided that when the semester is over (beginning of May), I’m going to start doing them once a week. When the semester kicks back in, I’ll commit to once a month – at least for starters. I’ll want to see how it goes. It might be too much.

Outside of Teenie, who can do doubles standing on her head I think, what do the rest of y’all think? Do you do doubles? What has your experience been? And Teenie, I’m kidding. Of course we want to hear from you too! 🙂

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 18:15:31

    I love me some doubles! But I prefer to do them back to back, or it doesn’t feel like doubles to me. There was one day (because we already know I’m crazy) I took back to back doubles before advanced, then went to work. By the time work was finished my mind and body were like “hey, dude, 6pm… Yoga Time. Hop to it, lady.” So I did.

    I find that as long as I’m properly fueled and hydrated, the 2nd class is always better than the first.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 11:44:52

      I cannot imagine back to back doubles and then advanced and then being able to drive anywhere let alone work! 🙂 I understand now the rationale for back to back doubles in conjunction with competition training/doing advanced. It really will increase your stamina, and you need that to make it through advanced.

      Reply

  2. Penelope
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 18:46:57

    I rarely do doubles (unless you count advanced), mostly due to the time commitment. Also, if I am going to do a second workout in a day, I prefer to run or do weights. But then, I consider running and not yoga my primary sport.

    The times I have done doubles, the second class never seems much more difficult or easier than the first, except I sweat more. (Is that possible? Apparently, yes.)

    Oh and your comment about awkward amused me. I love that posture! It is one of the few I can make look pretty. 🙂

    Reply

    • teenieyogini
      Mar 16, 2013 @ 18:49:04

      Ew. Really??? I don’t like awkward, stick or stretching!

      Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 11:46:20

      I don’t count advanced as doubles since it’s a separate thing. Plus, we can leave the room if we need to do during advanced, drink whenever we want, stop and ask questions about a posture. Way more relaxed in some regards. I am with Teenie though, I hate awkward and stick. Stretching is fine by me. I need to improve on it, but it’s a hamstring issue so it’s just patience and time.

      Reply

  3. bitchingaboutbikram
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 20:45:27

    I have yet to do a double. I guess I haven’t reached a point where I believe in my ability to get through it yet. I know that it would be easier to have several hours between, versus the true back-to-back. I do consider it from time to time.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 11:47:38

      I think I would not do back to back the first time. I’d space it out over the day. Maybe you could find other people at your studio who would be willing to join in? It makes it more fun. This last time I did it by myself, but I had friends at each class that knew I was doing a double and that made it fun.

      Reply

  4. Gina T.
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 13:15:42

    Hi! Just discovered your blog and love it! I’ve been practicing Bikram for 3 years. To jump in on the doubles conversation, I always do them back to back and I have the same goal to do a double once a month. Also, I always do a double on my birthday; it’s my gift to myself. Your week of doubles sounds like a great challenge!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 11:25:14

      Welcome Gina! I hadn’t thought about doing a birthday double. I always go on my birthday but have never done a double. That could be fun! I’ve also been practicing a little over three years.

      Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 14:08:32

    A Walk in the Clouds http://t.co/oelN7MFL4P #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 14:27:39

    A Walk in the Clouds http://t.co/74IPb6RNVa #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

