This & That

I’ve got a random number of things running through my head lately. None of them are much in and of themselves. So I tossed them all together to make you one big, happy post!

Look at me! I’m not buying clothes!

As you might recall, I have a problem buying yoga clothes.  In January, I banned myself from buying clothes until at least September. I don’t have any sense of control when I start buying yoga clothes. I cannot buy just one top or one bottom. I’ve gotta buy 2-3 bottoms and at least one top. Each month. That’s a lot of money (about 150.00 a month!). I’m saving my money for the women’s retreat in August (come with me!). How am I doing? So far so good. I have not bought anything. Even when I went to Teenie’s studio and saw all the cute stuff they had, that is not available at my studio, I stayed strong.

Trust me, I wanted to buy stuff at Teenie’s studio. I was all set to justify it as a travel expense. But I didn’t give in!!!!

Yesterday though I almost met my match. I walked in to class and discovered a new shipment of clothes had arrived. Damn it! I have no self control. I immediately spied a cute pair of shorts, but I know I cannot stop at just one pair.

One of my yoga buddies had the matching top and offered it to me. She said I should buy both. She didn’t know about my self imposed ban. I gave her the shorts and explained the ban. She said maybe she would buy them. And to that I said, “You are such a good friend.” She ended up buying both. This is good for me, but is it good for her? 🙂

No More Coke!

Ok – not really, but I am super close to having the coke out of my house. I just started the every other day plan. Sunday was my first day without a coke, and it went well. No headaches or major withdrawal symptoms. By the evening I wanted one. I knew one would taste good, but I did not give in. Today I had my coke for breakfast. 🙂

Bring on the Training!

It’s time to ramp up my training for the next competition. I’m not looking to go nuts,  but I am interested in getting organized and focus. I started yesterday and am developing a plan for the week. Each day I do 20 backbends (10 wall walks and 10 camels). I spread those out in groups of five throughout the day. I’m doing ab work to strengthen my core, my hip strengthening exercises as prescribed by my PT, and am working on strengthening my fingers and my overall grip (so I can rock out a lifted lotus!). Mark put a pull-up bar in the basement, and I discovered I cannot do any! He told me if all I could do was hang there then I should hang until I fatigued. So I did that this morning while on a work “break” (I have strange ideas about what breaks should look like). I think I hung for 10 seconds the first time and about 7 the second time. That was enough of that. I have no upper body strength. Gotta change that!

Anyways, if this sounds like a lot of work, it is. However, I work all of this into breaks I have scheduled throughout my day. I’m getting ready to take a break now and will use it to do five wall walks. On an earlier break I did some ab work. I can’t sit in a chair all day. I need to get up and move. Might as well be mindful about it and have it connect to my training!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 12:14:10

    You are so dedicated. I always think I’m going to make plans like that, then get overwhelmed and give up.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 13:35:36

      It’s just one day at a time. Today I may only do 10 backbends instead of 20.

      Reply

      • teenieyogini
        Mar 19, 2013 @ 20:09:00

        Still, you’re backbending… And it’s no big secret that you don’t exactly love backbending.

        Everyday, I think, “I really need to build some arm strength. I am going to dedicate x amount of time to blocking.” Then the time comes and I think “oooooh let’s wall-walk.”

        Keep up the good work, and next time we party together, you’ll be all cured of man-bow and I’ll still have matchstick arms.

        Reply

  2. Simmm
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 11:07:47

    Wowsers, no more coke!!! That’s fantastic!

    I can relate to the yoga clothes situation. I have been quite successful at stopping as well, but every time they get the new season’s stuff it gets difficult!

    We just got our bonus for 2012 and I’m seriously thinking about booking the retreat!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 21, 2013 @ 12:15:35

      I am definitely going. It would be fun if you were there!!!!! I haven’t booked yet out of general laziness but need to do it soon.

      Reply

      • Simmm
        Mar 22, 2013 @ 10:06:19

        I will probably book right before the early bird pricing cutoff, but I want to wait and iron out some details before (taking time off etc). Is anybody else you know going? I’ll be there all by myself probably, aside from the other attendees of course 🙂

        Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 09:27:49

    This & That http://t.co/am9dTdhXf9 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

