Sleepy Yogi Wants to Sleep

So here I am, three days into putting together a slightly new training routine, and I tired. TIRED. I’m not tired because of the extra yoga work (or whatever you want to call it). I’m tired because I didn’t sleep well last night and my period started. My period usually makes me sleepy. I didn’t sleep well last night because one of my pugs (Priscilla a.k.a. Princess Puppy Cakes) couldn’t sleep. She sounded super conjested – which is saying something for a pug! – and miserable. She had a hard time sleeping so no one could really sleep. Mark decided to sleep downstairs with her to see if he could get her to relax. That worked better for me than Mark as I apparently ended up getting more sleep than he did. Anyways, my sweet puggy girl is fine. She likely just has some allergies and it’s all been taken care of. But I’m tired and getting through my training goals today is making me miserable.

Ever have a day like that?

I’ve done ok so far. By 2:00 I had done my finger and grip strengthening exercises along with 5 wall walks and 5 camels. I’d also done my ab work. I’m taking the 4:30 class today and thought I would do the hip strengthening when I got home. I don’t even feel like doing the hip strengthening. I barely feel like going to class. I do feel like taking a hot bath and going to sleep. I think I will force myself to do the hip strengthening but may skip the last 10 backbends.

I have also eaten like total crap today. I juiced for breakfast (red leaf lettuce, lemons, cucumber, ginger, and apple) which was wonderful. But we had a party today for someone at my office which meant I ate kinda bad. I did good in that I avoided eating a lot of crap, but I did have cake (I made my rainbow sprinkle cake again), a TON of potato chips, and a few carrots with dip. I know that’s not that bad all around. I never eat potato chips anymore, and these were just some plain ruffles, but they tasted so delicious. The salt tasted divine. I wonder if it’s because my period started, but salty stuff is just going down super well at the moment. We’ll see how it plays out in class. I kinda feel like putting my mat in the corner and taking a nice hot nap.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 14:02:14

    Aren’t potato chips amazing? I *never* eat them. I never get them for home, never get them while out. But maybe once every 6 months someone will have a bag open at work and I become completely amazed at just how good salty potato chips are. Then I go back into oblivion again. Which is probably a good thing.

    Hey – have you ever printed your ingredients/ratios for your go-to juice (the lemon/ginger/cuc/apple one)? I keep meaning to ask.

    Reply

  2. yours truly
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 14:28:13

    Ugh potato chips: my nemesis! My bf eats them daily and avoiding them is so hard somedays I give in, and then it takes a week to get over the cravings. Just terrible!
    And yes, particularly bad around my cycle. So maybe that is rearing it’s head for you. Hang in there, each minute is a new minute!

    Reply

  3. AzizaLilaSultan
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 21:40:36

    Your blog is so much fun to read, fellow bikram yogi!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Taking Some Down Time | My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 10:19:33

    Sleepy Yogi Wants to Sleep http://t.co/5iCDaLUm7I #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

