Taking Some Down Time

So a quick follow-up about yesterday. I made it to class and was even in a decent mood when I got there. I actually started feeling better as class progressed. That’s unusual because I usually feel like crap during the day before and the first day of my period starting. All was good until we hit the floor. I decided to give wind-removing pose my all. Why not? I was giving my all for everything else and it was working out just fine.

I pulled my right leg into my chest and did everything to my edge. And my reward for doing so was to kickstart menstrual cramps in class. For real. As soon as I let go of my right leg there they were and they did not go away. Taking class with cramps is awful and of course I was out of luck until I could get home and take some Advil. So the rest of class pretty much stunk.

This also meant that I half-assed it for the rest of wind removing pose. I got my leg in position, held it there, but didn’t really do anything with it. On the other hand, this half-ass job was really my whole ass job given the cramps. I guess it depends on how you look at it!

I felt so miserable when I got home. I had yucky cramps that I thought would be cured by a hot shower (nope). After dinner I took my Advil and settled in on the couch with Max the Pug. We read and played video games for about 2 hours. This means I did no more backbending and skipped my hip strengthening exercises. And you know what? I am ok with that. I was so miserable last night. It wasn’t an issue of being tired or lazy. It was an issue of feeling rotten. I needed to just tuck myself into a secluded little spot and chill for the evening. Then I went to bed and slept very well. Mission accomplished. Listen to your body.

Today I have done nothing as far as training goes, and I don’t plan to. With my current schedule I don’t practice on Wednesdays. I think it’s important to have one full day of rest with no class and no training. So that’s what Wednesday currently is.

My New Favorite Juice

So one of my favorite Bikram bloggers asked me about me recent juice concoction. I don’t have an exact recipe per say. I aim to make 24-32 ounces each time. What I do is make about 15 oounces, taste it, and then adjust from there to my liking. This will get you started:

1. Cucumbers: This is my base. Use at least 3. You can also use celery as a base, but I prefer cucumber.

2. Lemons: I prefer my juice a bit on the tart side so I usually go with 3 but sometimes 2.

3. Red Leaf Lettuce: I am in love with juicing red leaf lettuce. I buy one pound and usually put two handfuls in. I told you this was not going to be exact! 🙂

4. Apples: I used to use Granny Smith, but this last time I used Golden-Delicious because they were on sale. I have to say that while Granny Smith is my favorite apple to eat, I prefer juicing the Golden Delicious (at least in this recipe). It makes it sweet and gives a nice sweet and sour blend when combined with the lemons. Use at least two and maybe three depending on size.

5. Ginger: Ginger is optional. If you are new to ginger do a small piece. I think it can be an acquired taste. Ginger gives your juice some spiciness. I love it and will cut off a big hunk. Again, not an exact science.

I usually toss in 1-2 cucumbers, a lemon, and the lettuce before I give the juice a try. I then make judgement calls about how much more of each to add. If you try it let me know what you think. If you vary it let me know what you do!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 18:17:13

    OMG, you are the BEST! I can’t wait to try this juice. I also enjoy lemons and tart juices/smoothies, so I bet I’ll like this one. I’m new to ginger (outside of Chinese food) so I’ll probably only use a tiny bit to start. That’s a good tip.

    It sucks that your periods are such a huge part of your life. Ugh. I am extremely lucky in this regard. Of course, having a pug to snuggle with is pretty rad. 🙂

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 12:14:15

    Ginger is really optional, but it’s good for you. I think it’s an acquired taste!

    Reply

  3. Penelope
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 14:02:19

    I make a similar juice but I use an orange instead of leafy greens, and I do half celery and half cucumber. I don’t feel too bad about this, since I eat plenty of leafy greens. plus, I never even ate fruit until I started making fresh juice (a tooth sensitivity issue – biting into almost all fruit is excruciating for me), so I would say I am doing okay. Also, TONS of ginger! yum yum.

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 06, 2014 @ 16:21:29

    Taking Some Down Time http://t.co/gJJxhpdJoE #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 21:36:34

    Taking Some Down Time http://t.co/gJJxhq4wMQ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

