If I Get a Cramp, I Must be Doing it Right

I think all these back bends are starting to pay off. I know, you’re probably thinking of course they’re gonna pay off. What’d you expect? I assumed they would, but given my love/hate relationship with them I’m glad to notice some payoff – even if it’s just tiny – so soon. I’ve only been adding in extra back bends for a week now (20 a day, but I only did it five days this week).

I noticed the beginning of the payoff in class last night. We were doing floor bow. My first set looked liked my standard man-bow. Let me explain. When I watched the competition I noticed that my floor bow was a lot like what most of the guys were doing and not at all like what most of the women were doing. If I could compete with the men I might do pretty decent. What this means is I’m simply not very flexible in my back bend.

So yesterday, in second set of floor bow, I wasn’t concerned with anything. I had no expectations. I wasn’t even thinking about my week of back bending (because in my mind it’s just been a short time). I was in the posture looking like I normally look. Near the end I really focused on kicking up, and I actually kicked up to a new height for me! In the process I gave myself a giant cramp in the middle of my back.

I think this is working, right?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 11:50:29

    You should have a teammate take pictures of your floor bow every week during advanced. I bet all of the extra work you are currently putting in will lead to a speedy and mind blowing annihilation of man-bow, and you are gonna want documentation of the process. Then one day you can be a famous yogi like Esak and give “death to Man-Bow” clinics at studios all over the world!!!

    Reply

  2. MIke Mitchell
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 19:42:07

    way to go! I think we all can relate to working to get greater expression and height on floor bow. I give full effort and always keep kicking with the words until the end but I know I’m not getting up as high as I wish I could/as I will one day.

    Reply

  3. leighahall
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 09:38:33

    What drives me nuts is I feel like I am kicking much higher than I actually am! I feel like I’m way off the floor but really it’s just a little bit.

    Reply

    • teenieyogini
      Mar 26, 2013 @ 09:50:16

      So? Who cares about the floor???! Remember your ghost pictures? The distance from the floor didn’t change much, but the overall posture had improved substantially, right??? You are improving every time you practice! Don’t be so hard on yourself! Besides, dude, you are awesome!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Retro Throwback: If I Get a Cramp, I Must Be Doing it Right | My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 08:21:55

    If I Get a Cramp, I Must… http://t.co/gmFa5WukSd #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

