The Bikram Time Warp

I have noticed something very odd over the last year. It was about a year ago that I started increasing the number of times I practices Bikram each week. At first, I had a strong rationale for why I could only practice 3, and maybe sometimes 4, times a week during the semester. This consisted of Saturday and Sunday and one day during the week. I don’t recall what my reasoning was, but I was convinced it was solid.

Once I knew I was going to do a challenge I decided I better ramp up my practice to get ready. Somehow, I started going 4 or maybe 5 days a week about this time last year. Then I hit my challenge. Then the semester started back up again, and suddenly I found I was able to stay a 5 days a week during the academic year. Now, to be fair, I did make one sacrifice. I did give up my membership in the Durham Community Concert Band where I played clarinet (poorly). I could have stayed in band, but it was a lot to take the beginning class, do advanced, and then go to a two hour band practice all on the same day. Plus, I just wanted to be home a bit.

So anyways, I started increasing the number of times I practices and then, with the competition, I started to increase the number of additional things I did at home. Suddenly, I was going to class 90 minutes at least 5 times a week, doing 2-hour advanced one day a week, going to class 30 minutes early to do some additionaly training, and doing 30-60 minutes of additional training at home after class. That’s a lot. In the summer, when the semester is over, I will ramp up the at home training.

But anyways, here’s my point. I have an actual job on top of all this that requires me to teach class twice a week for three hours, prep/plan/grade for said classes, meet with students, do research, and write, and go to the occasional meeting. That’s a full time job. You would think with all this yoga added in I would either not be keeping up with my job or doing it very poorly.

And yet, the opposite has happened.

Since adding more yoga to my life, and getting involved in competition, time has become way more expandable. It feels super flexible. I am more efficient. I get things done, and done well, in what seems like no time at all. Yes, I do have moments where I feel like things are a bit piled up, but rarely do I feel overwhelmed anymore. It’s like I am operating in a whole different space-time continuum – one that is very fluid. I feel like I have plenty of time to get everything done. I feel like I could be doing more than I am and yet I know I am doing just enough.

Are you experiencing this? How does time operate in your yoga stratosphere?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Retro Throwback: The Birkam Time Warp | My Bikram Yoga Life

Leave a Reply

