Not a Fan

A couple of weeks ago I was all set up to take class. I was hanging out in the hot room, and we had about five minutes to go. Suddenly, this woman (who happened to be set up right next to me) gets off her mat, walks over to the fans, and starts screwing with the switches.

Can you believe that?????

We have three fans that are in a line that run through the middle of the room. There’s an area of the room that also has no fans. This way, you can set up based on your fan preference. You can get full fan access, absolutely no fan access (or door love), or straddle the two. I am a master at the straddle. I can set up my mat so I only get a little bit of air on one side.

This lady set the fans so that the middle one was on the highest setting. I don’t know what she intended to do, but that’s what she did. Several of us looked at each other like, “What the heck?!?” but no one said anything. I wanted to say something, but I had no idea who she was. Then, the woman left the room. Even better! Turn the fans up and leave!

Of course I was pissed. I mean, the class hadn’t started yet. If you didn’t want to be in the room then you didn’t have to be. She chose to come to class anyways for that matter. Second, she’s screwing with the room temperature, and we all paid for that room to be hot. Third, there’s a reason that the room is supposed to be heated.

No one seemed to be doing anything so I went to the front desk. Of course I did! And you know what? I do not feel bad about it. I deserve what I came for. We all deserve what we came for, and none of the students have the right to be touching the equipment.

Ok – I’ve touched the equipment before, but with permission. I have been asked (because I get there right when the studio opens) to turn on or turn off the humidifier. But I know how to do it, and I’ve been asked to do it.

So I went to the front desk and asked the instructor if someone was supposed to be messing with the fans. Big surprise – she didn’t know anything about it. The woman just took it upon herself to adjust the fans. I got asked to turn them off, but I said no to that. There’s multiple switches involved, and I didn’t know the first thing about how to turn them on or off. It’s not like the humidifier with just one switch. Plus, I am pretty sure some people were already irked, and I didn’t want to add to that. Who was I to go in and touch the fans? You Bikram people know there can be tension around these fans.

When the instructor came in it was obvious that someone had screwed with the fans. She asked who touched the fans and the woman did not step up to the plate. That takes a lot of gumption (or something)! Most of us were in the room when she did it. We saw her, but she wasn’t about to own up to it. Good grief.

Fan lady was back yesterday, and she was set up right under the switches. I soooo wanted to run over, turn the fans up, and go, “I’m gonna say you did it!” and run out of the room. Because I’m immature like that.

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. E-Mail
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 14:25:53

    I’ve never been a fan of the fan.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

  2. teenieyogini
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 19:56:37

    I’d have freaked!
    At the studio with the circle floor where we practiced together, adjusting the fans requires a ladder, a special tool, and two people. I watched them do it once. It took almost an hour to set them up!

    I have, however, been known to move and turn on the space heaters while warming up before class. But, they aren’t the main heat source, and I always put them back the way they were when I’m done.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 15:42:47

      You touch the space heaters? I am so shocked!

      Reply

      • teenieyogini
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 16:07:40

        Yes. BUT, it’s kind of ok. The heat for the room comes from the radiant panels in the ceiling. The space heaters are usually off and mostly for the folks who like having a space heater. On days I come in really cold, I turn one on and aim it at me while I warm up, wallwalk, or just curl up in front if it. I always put it back the way I found it before class starts.

        Reply

  3. bitchingaboutbikram
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 20:48:03

    WTF!!!!! The beauty of class is that you never know how the room’s gonna be. I mean, I think we can all expect it to be hot, but there are days when I’ve walked in and the room is SMOKIN’ before we even get started. NO WAY would I ever turn on the fans. I would never have the balls to do that. Wow.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 15:43:40

      I know! I don’t know if it was a new person or just someone new to me. Can’t figure it out. I wouldn’t even go back in and touch the fans when I was asked to.

      Reply

  4. michaeljmitch1
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 10:37:56

    Definitely weird. In my studio the heat and fan controls are on the wall behind the teacher’s podium. we have a central system where both heat and fan come from the duct work, also a humidity blaster is part of that system. Fans aren’t on very often. Some teachers don’t use them at all and some use them very sparingly for like 30 secs at a time near the end of standing series or at spots during the floor series, but they never run the whole time or very much at all. I’ve noticed the greatest variation class to class is with the humidity. It seems the heat setting is pretty standard but the difference between a normal hot class and a holy shit is it hot class is the humidity setting. Some kick it up a notch or two higher than others. I always say when in doubt crank it but then I’ve also realized that you gotta be careful what you ask for (as he dissolves into his towel…).

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 15:45:20

      Oh yeah…the humidity will drop you to your knees in a hearbeat! I gripe when it’s not humid enough, and I gripe when it’s too humid. Can’t win with me! 🙂 Although I do agree that when in doubt, crank it up.

      Reply

  5. Mark
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 12:13:20

    Wow. That is pretty gutsy of her. I don’t know anyone who would do that. Personally, I need to have the fans on, even if it’s only for psychological reasons. The fans would normally be on, albeit so low you couldn’t feel much breeze. There was one instructor who would shut the fans off at the beginning of class and used the exhaust fan sparingly. Those were the toughest classes, on both body and mind.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 15:47:11

      Mark, that’s why you need to move away from the fans – for psychological reasons. 🙂 I’m serious though. I completely understand what you’re saying. I have been there myself. I thought I just needed to be near a fan – even if just a little bit – because that somehow eased a fear I had of being too hot (which really would just translate into being very uncomfortable which is not a big deal). If you can get yourself away from the fans you might find you don’t think about them because thinking about them is a total waste of energy when you can’t feel them.

      Reply

      • Mark
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 18:45:27

        Well, when I do get back into the room, I will try to remember that. Speaking of, that day is coming very soon! Stay tuned…

        Reply

  6. Trackback: The Return of Fan Lady | My Bikram Yoga Life
  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 04, 2014 @ 12:08:15

    Not a Fan http://t.co/32z80yRlQ0 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

