Favorite Things: The Quinoa Blog

I used to not give a crap about quinoa. It was one of those things I wanted to enjoy but just couldn’t. Mark eventually found a baked quinoa dish (with cheese!) that I liked, but then we went vegan and I didn’t think so much about that dish anymore.

Well, since the vegan challenge my palate has changed. Turns out I love quinoa now, and it doesn’t need to be baked and covered in cheese. In last week’s Favorite Things installment, I highlighted a salad blog with an amazing quinoa salad. This week, I bring you an entire blog devoted to nothin but quinoa.

I found this blog on accident. I was screwing around on Pinterest and happened to pin some onion quinoa bites. When I went to check out the recipe, I found the blog in all its (almost) wonderfulness.

Wait – almost?

Yep. The blog has one annoying thing about it that is driving me up a freaking wall. When I first went there, a pop-up appeared asking me to subscribe to their mailing list. I had no problem with that and subscribed right away. But that damn box continues to pop up. You can make it go away, but it will keep popping back up.

Someone make that box stop damn it. It’s getting in the way of my ability to read up on fabulous quinoa recipes.

The great thing about these recipes is that they are geared towards vegetarians, vegans, and meat-eaters. Any recipe can be adjusted for your diet, and the author even tells you how to do it in the ingredients section where applicable. Could not be easier. Everything you could imagine is here. Actually, I had no idea there could be such a variety of recipes for quinoa.

I have not made anything from the quinoa blog yet, but I am looking forward to doing so soon.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 16:09:07

    Try this:

    http://www.cookingquinoa.net/stop-the-pop-up

    Stop The Pop Up
    JAN 14, 2012 | VINCENT POLISI

    Thank you for visiting. The pop up should stop now. If it doesn’t, simply click CTRL-R (Control and R on Windows PCs) or Command-R (Command and R on Macs) to reload the page and refresh the browser cache. If that doesn’t work, close out of your browser and re-open it. The pop up should no longer appear. If it does, you’ll need to get medieval on the pop up and manually clear your browser’s cache using Tools, Options or Preferences depending on which browser and operating systems you are using. Clear the cache, NOT THE COOKIES. Clearing the cookies will make the pop up appear.

    Reply

  2. Penelope
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 22:07:30

    I love quinoa. Actually I love grains of all kinds! I could never, never, ever be Paleo. Also, have you tried Israeli (pearl) couscous? If you like risotto it is similar. The texture is so good and it mixes really well with lentils, greens, all sorts of things… mmm…

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:49:24

    Favorite Things: The Quinoa Blog http://t.co/xqfmGQgyyU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 15, 2014 @ 07:58:19

    Favorite Things: The Quinoa Blog http://t.co/i4hGorzYUC #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

