Sign Me Up!

I’m all signed up for the women’s retreat! I bit the bullet and charged it all up on my credit card. I won’t see that bill until next month! In the end, I decided to go with my own room instead of getting a random roommate. I am sure I would be fine with a random roomie, but it seemed like 250.00 extra was worth it to have my own room. You know what this means, right? I get the shower all to myself. That’s probably going to end up being a nice little bonus. At any other place I might not care about sharing the shower, but here I might.

I also signed up to take advanced with Emmy. That is 50.00 extra and is happening before the retreat starts. Class is on August 1st at 1:00 which is a few hours before the retreat officially begins. I have no idea if there is a beginning class before the advanced one. I’m flying in the day before, but I doubt I will get to take class unless one happens to be offered before advanced. So advanced could very well be my first class in two days after a flight. Interesting…..Anyone out there ever taken advanced with Emmy? Thoughts?

I have never met Emmy. I have never even been in the same room as her. My only hope is that she is nice to me when she realizes I cannot do 75% of advanced. I cannot imagine what an advanced class with me in it would look like if there was no beginning before it to warm up. Actually, I am not sure I care if I do the postures. I just want to be in the room and learn.

I’m also staying for the Texas regionals on the 4th. I’ve never been to a regional competition outside my own, and I’m excited! I know the Texas one is a big deal with lots of people, and I’m looking forward to being in the audience. It’ll be nice to be in the audience and not on the stage.

If you end up at the retreat let me know so we can meet up.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 19:54:53

    I took the advanced class at the retreat last year with Emmy. The class was in the afternoon on the second day and the price was included. I see they have changed that! We did NOT have a beginner class to warm up. I wouldn’t worry about Emmy; she wasn’t nearly as scary as rumour has it. Also, she told us point-blank at the start of class that she would be focusing most of her attention on the competitors, so the rest of us should not expect much from her. Fair enough. Honestly, there were SO many of us who ended up watching a lot more than we were doing.

    Also, she does things differently in that she didn’t lead the entire class. (At least she didn’t at the retreat, and some other attendees told me that how she did it at the retreat was typical. I don’t know. That was my only experience with her.) She talked while two demonstrators did all of the postures on the podium. She did jump in and practice with them some, just not the whole time. As you can imagine the demonstrators were really good. (One was Emily Carpenter who placed second at nationals this year. I don’t remember who the other one was.)

    The beginner classes with Emmy and Rajashree were a different story, though! They were not 90 minute classes. Those ladies hold postures a LONG time. Emmy held one set of standing head to knee for what felt like fifteen minutes but was realistically probably close to three. Everyone was falling out. And the room is HUGE, and packed, with no mirrors. They did let you leave your mat between classes if you wanted to. I never did. The hotel provided towels, and there were these amazing pitchers of ice water outside the pavilion with lemon, strawberry, or cucumber slices in it. Yum. I still remember that water!

    I think you will be happy you booked a single. The hotel is gorgeous. It is north of Austin, closer to Round Rock. I think all the Austin Bikram studios are in town a bit of a trek away, but I don’t know for sure. Darn, now I want to go again! 🙂 I should be there for the competition, anyway.

    You are going to have a great time!

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 20:40:43

    Well I don’t know if I’ll be volunteering that I’m a competitor. I think the kind of competitor Emmy wants to work with in advanced is at a far different level than me and can likely do a lot of the postures. I am happy to hang out in the roo, do what I can, listen, and learn. I’m ok with the long classes and the longer holding of postures. I’ve assumed it would be that way given what I have heard about Emmy and Rajashree. Of course I have no real idea what I’m in for…..

    You should come! At the very least I hope to see you at the competiton. Thanks for providing all the information. I appreciate it, and it helps. 🙂

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 18:54:24

    Sign Me Up! http://t.co/1va9RCoiPr #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 14, 2014 @ 15:01:32

    Sign Me Up! http://t.co/JZutD2jpy0 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

