The Return of Fan Lady

Yesterday I got to take class again with Fan Lady. She set herself up fairly close to the fan switches. I was all the way down at the other end of the room. I noticed her, but I wasn’t paying attention to her at first. I have my own business to take care of. That’s why I get there early. I had finished doing some stretches when I decided to leave to use the restroom.

You should know that when you leave the hot room at my studio, it dumps you into a hallway. Along the hallway are three indivudal restrooms. I entered the one at the farthest end from the lobby and from where Fan Lady had set up. When I came out, I had decided to go the lobby for a second to get come chapstick from my purse. This meant I had to walk all the way down the hall and past the door closest to Fan Lady.

I passed Fan Lady as I was going down the hall. It didn’t register with me until I got to the door she had exited. The door was propped open. That’s when I saw Fan Lady continuing on down the hall and into the women’s changing area.

Was it her? Did she intentionally prop open the door? I didn’t see her do it so I can’t say. Let’s just say I have my suspisions. I unpropped it, closed it, and went on about my business.

But wait – it gets better.

I get back on my mat and am just hanging out. Fan Lady is on her mat hanging out. Then, she gets up and stares directly at the switches. She takes a couple of steps towards them. I’m thinking, go ahead and do it. I’m all set to say something. But then I think, please don’t do it. Please do not make me have to deal with this.

She turns and looks directly at me. Busted! She caught me looking at her. Then she turns back and stares at the switches. Then she looks at me again. Then she leaves the room.

The next five or so minutes got strange. Fan Lady would lay down on her mat for 1-2 minutes, get up, swing the door open as wide as she could, and exit. She would be gone 1-2 minutes, swing the door open as wide as possible, enter the room, and lay down. And this just kept repeating until the instructor came in. It was like she was trying to cool the room as best as she could. For the life of me I cannot figure out why she just doesn’t sit out in the lobby until just before class. People do this. It’s not a big deal.

As someone who’s made a career out of primarily¬†observational research, I am now dying to interview Fan Lady and ask her why she does these things. I’m not going to do that, but I so want to know what her rationale is and why she thinks this is all fine and dandy to do. Or maybe she doesn’t think it’s fine and dandy to do but she doesn’t care and does it anyways. At any rate, I’d love to score an interview with Fan Lady.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 16:53:04

    This saga is hilarious! Apparently this happened at my own studio recently. Someone gave the teacher some helpful advice about how to do her reception duties better, then gave her a dirty look when she opened the door mid-class for some cooling (apparently she really dislikes the door-love).

    I know that it took me many, many months before I stopped thinking constantly about the fans or the door. It took me forever to be able to spend any time in the room before class started. These days I better understand what it means to surrender. Unfortunately this only applies to the hot room. I struggle like MAD in the real world.

    Crazy Fan Lady.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 31, 2013 @ 20:09:08

      I still think about the fans and the door! But I hate door love lately so I try to stay away. That’s my only solution. Sometimes I get mad at myself for not setting up anywhere near a fan. I have to remind myself to apply what I learn in the yoga room outside it. It is hard

      Reply

  2. leela
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 19:42:40

    Why are you judging this woman so harshly? Everyone has their own challenges why don’t you just let her have her’s. She obviously has a major struggle with the heat and your negativity towards her is not going to help. Don’t harass her with your questions or opinions. Just focus on yourself. The purpose of the heat is not so you can learn to be an extremist. It’s so you can sweat, detox and learn to thrive in any environment. Any environment could mean a cool yoga room or standing next to someone who is struggling or even someone who is way more advanced than you. Do your thing. Let here do hers. Focus your energy in a positive way.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Mar 31, 2013 @ 20:05:53

      Leela, on the one hand I totally agree with you. But my problem isn’t if she’s in the room or out. My problem is her desire to touch equipment and attempt to fool with the room temperature. However the teacher sets the room is what I will deal with. Another student attempting to mess with that is an issue and is inappropriate. I’m not going to ignore students messing with equipment or leaving doors open. That’s also not the solution.

      I don’t think I passed judgement on her too harshly. I know I don’t understand her actions. I’d love to know her thoughts. For real.

      This blog is about anything and everything that I encounter during my practice. I put it out there. It will not be perfect and beautiful.

      Reply

  3. bitchingaboutbikram
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 18:51:07

    Personally, I feel like once we start to really SEE what this yoga does for our own minds, then it’s all the more interesting to watch other peoples ticks and fidgets. It can come out in huffy-puffy frustration during poses, or when people set up mats right in front of others without thinking of their need to see a sliver of themselves in the mirror, or someone having a sense of entitlement about how the room is “supposed to be” leading to them fussing with the equipment.

    It’s really remarkable how our individual struggles can cause us to act out instead of finding stillness. Almost as if we’re fighting back against all the good we’re doing.

    And really, it just comes down to having respect for the house you’re in. Respecting the teacher, their direction, and the process.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 07:17:24

      This is a really interesting point. I can get frustrated when people set themselves up right in front of me (when there is plenty of room all around!), but I had never thought of all of these various quirks as individual struggles. I do think of Fan Lady as having some struggles, but not some of these other things people might do that could drive me nuts. I think looking at it through the lens of struggle is a good one. I know I have them too. I probably drive other people nuts with my own (and I might not even know all the things I do that drive people nuts!).

      Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 05:01:34

    The Return of Fan Lady http://t.co/TvRZBpT9Bw #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 26, 2014 @ 00:10:20

    The Return of Fan Lady http://t.co/TvRZBqaKJA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

