Look – It’s the Ceiling!

Y’all know about my love of back bends (not!). Ok, truth is, I would love to love them. I would love to be good at them. If just one of those things would happen it would be nice. For the record, I am still doing 20 a day except for Wednesdays when I currently do no training at all.

Today I decided to take the 9:00am class. I never do back bends before the 9:00 class because I just don’t. Seriously. That’s all I got on that one. But today I found myself with a few minutes to spare before class started so I decided to do five camels. I found the whole experience to be interesting as it was an exercise in watching my body open up.

For my first camel I simply put my hands on my hips and dropped my head back. I never grab my heels on the first camel of the day. Sometimes I don’t grab them until I get to the third or fourthor eighth (for real). Those first few are about getting things loosened up.

I went back in my first camel and could see only the ceiling and not very far down the ceiling either. The second set got me to seeing the very top of the wall. The third set got me to the middle of the wall. On the fourth set I could see all the way down to the floor (without grabbing my heels). I then grabbed my heels for the fourth and fifth set. I could see just behind my mat (I had my shirt back there), but could not see the mat itself.

This whole thing gave me hope that one day I will be able to see my feet and will be ready to work on full camel. I’m not exactly estatic about learning full camel. I’m waaaaay into lifting lotus right now, but it would be cool. Now I see how this progression happens. Now these back bends are at least getting interesting.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 18:48:40

    Good job! You’ll get there!!!
    I sooooo want a good, consistant full camel. It was the first advanced pose I learned as a kid, but lost it after my boat crash.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 02, 2013 @ 07:42:25

      a boat crash? that sounds awful. how cool you could do full camel as a kid.

      Reply

    • alwaysgreatnevereasy
      Apr 02, 2013 @ 09:42:39

      I’ve come to love Camel. Sometimes even in a hard class I get a burst of energy after 2nd set of Camel and finish class with a stream of momentum. I have no problem seeing the wall behind me with my hands on my feet and maybe the floor near the bottom of the back wall, but I’m nowhere near full camel or even being able to imagine being able to see my mat. I get inspired by great pictures of those kinds of poses but not sure I’ll ever get there. Great to read about your progress.

      Reply

      • leighahall
        Apr 03, 2013 @ 07:14:32

        I would love to mildly enjoy camel! Glad you love it. I’ll try to remember that it helps you get some energy. That might motivate me to hang in there.

        Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:11:40

    Look – It’s the Ceiling! http://t.co/ok4TUJXbK3 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 12:26:19

    Look – It’s the Ceiling! http://t.co/ok4TUKeMS7 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

