Stupid Front Row

Yesterday I was all set up and waiting for the 4:30 class to start when my yoga buddy in the front row noticed she was the only person in the front row. We were literally just minutes away from starting. It did seem kind of sad that she was all alone in the front row, but not sad enough to bother me. But then she asked me to join her.

Ugh. I hate the front row. Stupid front row.

Ok – why do I hate it? I have a few reasons:

(a) I just do so leave me alone.

(b) Too much pressure

(c) What if I want to be a bit lazy? I don’t really feel like I can do that in the front row (see point B). On the other hand, when am I (or any of us) lazy in class? 🙂

(d) Really? I’m already doing this without any fans or door love.

However, I am pretty sure I run around this blog yakking about how we need to do things that make us uncomfortable now and then. So I sort of had to live up to my own standard. I dragged my mat up to the front row (but I did grumble a teeny bit).

Class started, and I forgot I was in the front row. I just went on about my business. Overall, I hate to say it, it wasn’t really that bad. I might actually choose to go up there again tonight. It was nice in standing head to knee and in stretching to be that close to the mirror. I really felt like I could see what I was doing with my arms. In standing head to knee I got a much better sense of how they looked when I lowered them down next to my calf muscles. It stunk though in standing bow. I felt like I was going to run into the mirror. I accomodated by stepping more towards the back of my mat.

In the end, I learned that I let the idea of being in the front row just get to much into my head. The reality of it wasn’t bad at all. Just another life lesson to be in the moment and go with it.

On another note, I am hitting the road tomorrow and will be off the blog for a few days, but no worries! I have found a local Bikram studio to practice at while I’m gone. I’m exicted to visit a new studio. I love visiting Birkam studios. When I get back, I’ll have new traveling Bikram adventures to share. I’m also in the process of talking to Mark about what it’s like to live with someone who practices Bikram. He has a few interesting things to say on the matter. I’ll share those too when I return.

If you’re missing me, follow me on twitter at LeighAHall. I’ll likely be tweeting while I’m on the road.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 09:17:43

    Have a good trip. I love front row standing bow. It’s soooooo zen-ful and distraction-less.

    Have a good trip! Maybe the new studio will have a yoga box for you to try out!!!

    Reply

  2. Mark
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 10:16:12

    I usually don’t practice in the front row just because I can be a six-foot tall blunderbuss interfering with more accomplished (and smaller) people. That said, if the class is really small, I will move up into one of the corners of the room. This gives me the chance to observe myself in postures from two angles, which can be helpful (if I’m not falling out because I’m trying to see myself in the mirror.

    However, one of my best classes ever occurred while in the front. One day as we were signing in one of my friends dropped her bottle of mineral water and it shattered everywhere. Since I was on work-study at the time, I told her I would clean it up if she just set me up somewhere in the room. Turns out she set me up next to her — in the front. I was a bit upset at first but I actually had a great class!! Never know what can happen if you just roll with it. Enjoy your trip!

    Reply

  3. alwaysgreatnevereasy
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 10:19:08

    I almost always set up in front row. I switch sides of the room depending on how people are already set up and what looks like the best spot at the moment. If a lot of people are already set up I don’t mind going middle row or back row once in awhile, but I don’t wear my glasses in class and my vision is blurrier the further away from the mirror I am. Also find being further from the mirror affects my balance, maybe due to vision issue, maybe just mental noise. I feel most at home in the front row and I kinda like the feeling of trying to be a good example for others…keeps me on my toes…not that I do any of the poses perfectly by any means. I look forward to practicing in various Bikram studios as time goes on. So far I’ve only practiced at my home studio. I would even like to visit the other Chicago area studios in the near future, as well as those in other places entirely. I follow tons of studios on FB and get a little glimpse into the culture and practice of various places. Cool to see that common bond all over the world.

    Reply

  4. alwaysgreatnevereasy
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 13:24:08

    I should have added that I notice other experienced yogis in my studio never set up in the front row for whatever reason. We’re always encouraged to set up towards the front if we’ve been practicing for awhile so there’s room in the back row for newbies, but I notice some studio veterans never or rarely do. I guess the point is that its most important to practice where you feel the most comfortable that particular day but don’t be afraid to change it up once in awhile.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 18:59:56

      I don’t have a problem being in the front if there are a lot of new people. My studio also has a hot section (no fans and no breeze from a door will hit you). More experienced people tend to set up over there. Newer people tend to want a fan and such which is understandable.

      Reply

  5. Trackback: The Number One Rule for Doubles: It’s Super Simple! | My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 18:03:10

    Stupid Front Row http://t.co/NLgQaSP6lu #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

