Welcome To My Yoga Island

On Saturday I experienced what it feels like when you drag yourself to class. Honestly, for me, getting to class is the easy part. Often I will hear instructors say that getting through the front door of the studio is the hard part, but I don’t really experience that.

Yesterday I had a myofascial massage. I’ve had one before. I get them once a month now. But this particular massage was intense. Way more intense than I was used to. My therapist suggested I take a nap, but I thought that sounded silly. Am I the Queen of Lazy Town? Do I need to follow my massage with a nap?

Yes, I do.

I was about to pass out at the table at 12:30 while Mark was eating lunch. So I gave up and took a nap but set an alarm so I would get up and make it to the 3:00 class which was also the last class for the day.

The nap helped, but mentally I did not want to go to class. I just wanted to stay home and lay around and be lazy. That seemed like an awesome thing to do, and when do I ever do it? Hardly ever. When do I skip class to be lazy? Never. Seriously. Never is the answer.

But I dragged my behind to class. Getting there is usually easy because I enjoy the drive. Normally, I have been cooped up in the house or at work and just like getting out. But that day? Meh.

I got myself in the studio with my Meh attitude and proceeded to lay around on my mat. Ok, I did some stretches and one lifting lotus. Then I got myself into spider (get into lotus and roll forward onto your stomach) and laid there. When my legs slipped out of lotus, I still laid there until class started. Lazy!!!

At some point a guy came in and set up pretty close to me. Whatever. I mean, there’s tons of space but if you need to be that close to me….whatever. That really wasn’t the issue. He had this gigantic watch on with a gigantic face to it. He took it off and set it at the top left corner of his mat but at an angle. The angle allowed me full access, and it was easy to read.

Now, I am not interested in looking at the time during class. Class will end when class ends. I think we all know that. You know about how far along you are based on what posture you are in. Not rocket science.

But my brain is taking off down this track of  Oh My God. Why did he bring a watch into the room? Now all I’m gonna do is check the time. That is SUCH a distraction. Blah, blah, blah and more blah……

Then I told myself to shut-up. The watch was his issue. Not mine. The watch was set up over on his yoga island. Not mine. As far as I was concerned, his yoga island was far away, and I couldn’t see it. Shouldn’t even being paying attention to anything going on over on his yoga island. That watch was his distraction. Not mine.

Once I figured all that out, I began class and ignored his yoga island – like I should.

At the end of class, it dawned on me that I never looked at that watch. I never checked the time. As worked up as I wanted to be about the arrival of the watch, it really wasn’t something for me to get worked up about. It wasn’t my business.

The lesson? Let it go. Move on. Focus on your own yoga island.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MIke Mitchell
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 20:06:22

    Good job on 1) getting to class this particular day and 2) not letting the person next to you distract you once class started. Putting a watch on the corner of your mat is very weird though. I could see though that once class started you just get into your own breath and body in the mirror that you wouldn’t think twice about the watch on the next towel. Good focus.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 06:46:20

      Thanks Mike! I realized it wasn’t about him. It was about me. I was in control of what I did, and he wasn’t responsible for distracting me. Ultimately, I distract me (and I can be pretty good at it too!). 🙂

      Reply

  2. leela
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 21:30:49

    Do you always do class on the same day as a massage? Most people don’t do that, I find it interesting. How does it make you feel physically during class?

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 06:47:19

      Not always. I had a good five hours between the massage and class. I wouldn’t go directly from a massage to class. I felt pretty good during class, and I also took it easy. Didn’t push myself. I felt fantastic after class was over.

      Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 13:59:36

    Welcome To My Yoga Island http://t.co/XrjXJ7AWAT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

