The Number One Rule for Doubles: It’s Super Simple!

The number one rule for doubles is this: Take the class.
On Sunday I did a double. I had vowed to get myself back into doing more doubles and on some sort of regular system with them. I did my last one in March and realized how wonderful it felt to do one. I decided to do a double once a month until May. For May-mid-August I’m doing them once a week because my schedule will allow for it. Yes, my schedule will technically allow for me to do a double once a week now, but I don’t want my life to be all about yoga (maybe just 95% of it!).

Doing doubles can be a whole different mental ball game – at least at first. I know when I took my first class (I did a 9:00 and a 3:00) all I could think of was, “You mean I have to come back and do awkward again?” I hate awkward. So there’s definitely some mental games going on. I found myself thinking, “These people are so lucky. They do not have to come back this afternoon and do another set of triangle.”

But really, outside of the usual pay attention to what you eat, hydrate, and so on, all you have to do is show up and take the class. The key, I have found, is to not think about the second class. Going for doubles? Take it one class at a time. The first class is what it is. The second class is what it is. Don’t think that what you experience in the first class will predict what you will experience in the second. That’s not likely to be the case.

For me, I found the second class to be so much better than the first. My second class flew by. It felt like 30 minutes. I also had a fantastic triangle for both sets on both sides! Even the instructor – who had taught my first class too – noticed. I held it the entire time every time and had great form. I believe it’s because my hips were more opened up from having taken the first class. Seriously, I have tight hips y’all!

I also set up in the front row for my second class. You know how I feel about the front row, right? But it was enjoyable. I had a great time rocking it out next to a couple of yoga buddies.

I’m looking forward to the once a week plan that I’ll be starting the first week of May. I’m interested in seeing what happens and if I experience any changes. Do you do doubles? If so, how has it changed your practice? If you don’t do them, why not?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 13:25:15

    DOUBLES MONDAY!!!
    Everyone knows that Monday is my doubles day, and when I walk in, they all start “Doubles Monday!” And passing out high 5’s. I love it!!!

    I take my doubles back to back, as soon as I leave the studio, it doesn’t feel like “doubles” and more… Which has made possible to do two sets of doubles in one day!

    I find, as long as I’ve got enough food and water, the 2nd class is always easier, quieter and stronger.

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 15, 2014 @ 03:07:09

    The Number One… http://t.co/4ZpkBXlxOT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

