Magic Cake Provides Super Powers: Helps Woman Take Yoga Class

Yesterday was my first day (sort of) of the whole no water in class thing. It’s not the first time I’ve ever gone without water. I’m just trying to get myself back on track and in the habit of taking no water in class.

So did I manage to get through class without any water? Yes, I did.

Was it easy? Not at all.

First, let me say that I could tell a difference in my practice by not drinking any water. It’s hard to really explain that difference right now because my mind spent the last 30 minutes of class screaming for water. My mind is soooooo annoying.

It didn’t start out that way. I was completely hydrated, well fed, and ready to go for class. No problems in those departments. The room seemed perfect to me. I had a good sweat going right from the start, but not off the charts. We got to party time and honestly, I would not have taken water there today anyways. Felt great. Got to triangle and felt great.

Now at this point I started to realize how good I was feeling, but I didn’t want to chalk it up to the whole no water thing just yet. I can do the standing series without water no problem. I do it on a regular basis. However, I did feel exceptionally good today which could only mean one thing: The giant piece of cake I had with lunch was made of magic.

That seems reasonable, right? I somehow acquired a piece of magic cake that gave me a minimal level of super powers for a short amount of time. Maybe it was infused with gamma rays. I don’t know. If I had thought of it, I would have taken a picture to show you. But how was I supposed to know it was a magic cake?

But the magic cake met it’s match with my crazy brain. See, the real challenge in this whole me vs. the water thing wasn’t during the standing series. It happened on the floor. The floor is where I drink all my water. When we got to tree pose my mind woke up and realized it wasn’t going to get it’s water in savassanah. It freaked out and started to fight the powers the magic cake had provided me with. For the entire floor series my mind tried to hypnotize me.

You will drink water. You want the water. Water is goooooddddd.

You will drink water. You want the water. Water is goooooddddd.

And the battle was awful. My mind first started off being a bit of a brat. It would say, “Water!” and I started back by yelling, “Thought!” Two things to note here:

1. Thinking the word thought is a meditation technique. It’s a way to recognize a thought and help it pass on by without engaging with it.

2. I did not ever yell, “Thought!” in class, but that certainly would have been interesting if I had.

The more I yelled, “Thought!” the worse it got in my head about the water. Finally, I was in a savassanah with WATERWATERWATERWATER running around in my head. To combat it, I pictured myself running circles around my yoga mat screaming THOUGHTTHOUGHTTHOUGHTHOUGHT until things calmed down.

The last six postures (from fixed firm on) were the worst. At first I was like, “Oh, I’m in the home stretch. I got this.” But that didn’t make things easier because it just didn’t. So then I decided to take it one posture at a time. Then one set of each posture at a time. Then I started thinking about my magic cake and how delicious it had been. Before I knew it, class was over, and I had my water.

And you know what? Most delicious water ever.

Final Score

Mind: 0

Me and my Magic Cake: 1

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mtercero
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 13:56:44

    Reblogged this on Maria Tercero.

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 14:23:10

    Congrats on no water! I have been practicing that for a year and a half, and honestly it gets easier. I have the occasional morning class that I’ll drink once because I am not well hydrated, but otherwise I’ve been improvements from not drinking during class.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: I Haven’t Had Water in Five Days | My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. Andy Jacobs
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 02:17:53

    the best part of no water is the freedom. it frees your practice and your body from distraction. and i love that while eveyone else is fussing about hydroflasks and towel wrapping and ice, you can just walk into class with nothing and be ready. keep it up! did you take an esak seminar he always says give it ten classes haha!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 13:11:26

      Yes! Well said. I am definitely experiencing freedom. I did not take an Esak seminar, but some others at my studio did and came back with his recommendation. I thought it seemed reasonable so decided to give it a shot.

      Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 00:32:15

    Magic… http://t.co/OXLUW08WZM #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

