Favorite Things: My Hydro Flask

If you do not own a hydro flask you are missing out. Period. Here’s why you want one: When you put liquid into your flask, the temperature of that liquid will not change. Think about it.

Now, I know recently I have embarked on a quest to not have water during class. So you might be wondering why this post is even relevant. Well, it’s relevant for a few reasons:

1. Most people DO drink water during class.

2. I drink water after class, and I want it to be at a temperature I like.

3. You can use it outside of class.

Let’s Talk About Class

I was visiting another studio once and had to purchase water. However, I had brought my hydro flask with me. I poured the water into my flask, but had some water left over. I took both the flask and the remaining liquid into class with me. I didn’t think about it. I just did it.

Well, let’s just say class was rough. By the end, I had emptied my flask, but of course I still had some water left in the bottle I had purchased. I tried to drink it and – blech. It was super warm and disgusting. Meanwhile, the water in my flask had been cool and easy to sip. I had gotten so used to my flask that I had forgotten how much the room can warm a bottle of water. Yes, I know you can put ice in your thermos or whatever you are using, but the flask doesn’t require that (unless you really want it).

Additionally, I can get my flask ready and store it in my car all day long and then go take class. The water temperature will be exactly as I left it. For real.

Other Uses

You gotta stay hydrated, right? I can fill my flask up and leave it in my car while I drive around town in the middle of summer running errands. I can sip it as I go place to place and it never gets hot and yucky. It’s also great for storing juice in. I have two, and I used to fill one with water to have during class and one with cucumber juice to have after class. Even though I left my cucumber juice outside the hot room (drinking that during class doesn’t sound good), I technically could have brought it into the room with me.

Some people have pointed out you can fill it with beer or a margarita and take it to the pool with you. I suppose you could also fill it with these things and take it to class, but I suspect you would pay a mighty nasty price for doing so.

I own two of these – a 40 ounce and a 24 ounce. The 24 ounce is perfect for storing juice and using to run errands. The 40 ounce is great for class. These flasks are also a great way to keep track of your water intake if you struggle to pay attention.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 16:04:16

    We just got them at our studio… Everyone is raving!

    Now, I know you have two breathe mats and decided you prefer 1 color to the other, are you partial to hydro flask color too?

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 18, 2013 @ 18:14:46

      I have an orange and a purple hydro flask. I’m not partial to either based on color. The orange is smaller than the purple. It depends on how much water I need to take with me. 🙂

      Reply

  2. John
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 19:13:35

    Cost me a small fortune to get one shipped to Australia but it was well worth it. I have to agree that the 40 oz is a great size for class.

    Reply

  3. leighahall
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 06:43:35

    John, I think that says a lot about how great they are when you were willing to get one shipped to Australia! Glad you like it.

    Reply

  4. jessica
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 01:35:48

    After reading this post I was convinced I needed a hydro flask. Almost bought one online then realized they sell them at the studio I practice at. Sweet! Got the 40 oz tonight after class. It’s all ready for 8am. Excited to drink my cold water – at the very end of class! 😉

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Apr 20, 2013 @ 11:07:47

      Let me know what you think! I think the 40oz is a great one to take to class. It gives me something to sip on before, plenty to drink after, and some extra for the ride home.

      Reply

      • jessica
        Apr 28, 2013 @ 17:01:33

        Love my hydro flask! My water stays so cold and delicious! I’ve been doing the “no water during class” challenge with you (6 classes now) and just drinking at the end of class. This is actually what I used to do (or leave my water outside the hot room) but somehow I got out of this habit when I went through a period of time where I was practicing less consistently. Now, I’ve been back to 4 classes/week for about 2 months. Feeling really great! However, my last class just about killed me and I was *thisclose* to drinking my water at fixed firm, but I pressed through. I didn’t really need it. Actually I think I just knew how cold and refreshing it would be…. maybe I should leave the hydro flask outside the room – it’s too amazing!

        Reply

        • leighahall
          Apr 28, 2013 @ 18:49:30

          Hydro flasks are the best, right? That’s so exciting that you’ve done six classes no with no water!!!! I have been where you are – at fixed firm (or camel) and thought I would die without it, but it was really the idea of water that was driving me nuts. I could taste it and knew how awesome it would be.

          I have thought about leaving my bottle outside the room. I know there are people who read this blog that do that, but I want it right at the end and I don’t want to leave the room to get it. It’s not bothering me so much. You should write a guest post about your 10 days with no water. What do you think?

          Reply

          • jessica
            Apr 30, 2013 @ 02:25:44

            Yikes! Writing a guest post about no water scares me more than not drinking water! 😉 I’ll think about it though….

            Today was no problem not drinking water because I tweaked my back as I was falling out of first set of standing bow (my fave!) and had to sit down for about half the remaining standing series and lie down for more than half of the floor series. Boo. Hubby hooked me up with ice then heat when I got home. It’s still spazzy, but better.

            This has happened to me before but I’m not sure exactly what causes it. Stress could be a factor. It’s hard to tell. I do know that I felt really good today, but I think I was pushing it a little too hard in all the preceding postures. Good lesson to just let it flow and not force it. Sigh.

            Reply

  5. Trackback: I Haven’t Had Water in Five Days | My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. Trackback: You know you’re becoming a modern day yogi when… | Eat Your Fruits & Vegetables
  7. Joann
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:36:05

    I know this is an old post but I just have to thank you for recommending hydro flask! I just got mine on Thursday and used it for the first time in class today! I’m sold!! I got the pink one and I just love it!! I also ordered the straw lid but it was hard to find in stock so I had to order it from a different website and I haven’t received it yet.

    Reply

  8. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 10:28:17

    Favorite Things: My Hydro Flask http://t.co/cRKixYjecP #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

