Recipe of the Week: Spaghetti with Kale, Lemon, and Garlic

The recipe of the week is a very simple (and yummy!) spaghetti with kale, lemon, and garlic. It’s a very light dish that takes little effort. However, it does require you to pay some sort of attention.

You know how in yoga there is a saying of I have yoga brain? It often comes up after a particularly challenging class. When I have yoga brain, my mind feels all fuzzy, and I have difficulty focusing. When I was cooking this week’s recipe, I did not have yoga brain, I had period brain. It was the first day of my cycle, and I wanted to take a nap rather than cook dinner. Ultimately, this resulted in me not prepping the kale correctly. I left the stems on. I made tough, chewey kale which is the exact opposite of what you’re supposed to do. Still, even while I picked out the kale, it was fantastic. I’ll be making this again, but I will be making the kale correctly. This isn’t hard to do. It just requires me to not have a fuzzy brain during the cooking process.

The recipe calls for red pepper flakes. I hardly put in any in (so I thought), but Mark thought I went a little heavy on it. I didn’t think so. But remember a little goes a long way with that stuff so adjust to your taste. Cooking the spaghetti in lemon juice at the end gave it a nice, bright flavor. I used lemon juice out of a jar and not from an actual lemon (even though we had them) because I was lazy and had period brain.

Here’s how my delicious dish turned out:

My fantastic spaghetti!

My fantastic spaghetti!

 

I did not put parmesan cheese on it. I veganized this dish and used Parmela Vegan Parmesan that I bought through Spencer’s Market. Side note: most amazing vegan parmesan you are going to find. It smells and tastes like the real deal. The next time I order it I’m getting five containers at once. No joke.

Also, if you’re interested in what I’ve reviewed and what I have coming up follow me on Pinterest (see button on right hand side of page). I have lots of boards, but two are related to this blog. One logs recipes I have reviewed, and the other shows what I plan to make in the next week or two.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marcy Palmeri
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 15:55:50

    Leigh, it looks utterly delightful! I wonder if I could substitute spaghetti squash for the spaghetti… since i have a carb issue?

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 29, 2014 @ 23:12:52

    Recipe of… http://t.co/CxIOfD3xcO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 12:27:45

    Recipe of… http://t.co/rhs2lhveTB #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

