Everyone Struggles

Everyone struggles. We all do. It just looks different depending on where we are in our practice.

Last Friday, I took the 9:00am class. It was Day 9 of my 10-Day No Water Challenge. I set up in the back row near a door. A yoga buddy, who I think was on Day 4 of the same challenge set up in front of me. To our right was a gentleman who I am pretty sure has not come to class more than five times. He’s new is all I’m saying.

As far as the challenge goes, things have been good up until fixed firm. For some reason, I really start wanting my water for the last six postures. It’s varying degrees of driving me crazy,.

But on Day 9, the whole I want water thing was really stuck in my brain at the end. I was making myself get up and do the postures, but all I wanted to do was drink water. It was always a relief for me when first set of ANY posture started. I am well trained (or programmed!) to not drink my water until after second set. So once first set gets rolling I am able to let the thought of water go a bit.

But guess who started drinking it up after first set and during postures?

Yea – the new guy.

When I saw him do this, right when I was in the middle of a massive water craving, I wanted to reach over and crush his little plastic bottle in my hand. I wanted to take that water and pour it over my head. I freaked out (in my head). Discipline people! Discipline! For the love of God, can you not wait until after second set?

I sat with those thoughts of mine for a moment and then slowly let them go one by one. It was in letting them go that I realized something. This guy must be struggling to. He’s new. He’s sitting on his mat. He’s drinking when he’s not supposed to. He must be having a rough time over there. Yet he is hanging in there. I’m having a rough time over  on my island too. I am also hanging in there. Our rough times are just playing out differently because of where we are in our practice. Suddenly, I wasn’t angry or upset about him drinking water during a posture or after first set.

When class finished up I immediately drank some water. As I was standing up to leave, the new guy next to me said, “Hey, great practice.” I don’t know what I said in response. It caught me off guard and overwhelmed me. I wanted to run over to his mat and give him a hug, but I wasn’t sure how that would go over. I hope I said, “Thanks. You too,” because that’s what I meant.

It doesn’t matter how much we have practiced or how new we are to the practice. We all have our struggles and they play out as they are supposed to play out for us at that point in time. I learned the importance of seeing that in everyone and finding the great practice within.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Everyone Struggles | My Bikram Yoga Life
  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 29, 2014 @ 19:10:50

    Everyone Struggles http://t.co/Ojt9a2WMih #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 25, 2014 @ 04:08:23

    Everyone Struggles http://t.co/bRl18RI5YJ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

