The 10-Day No Water Challenge: It’s Over!

I hit my 10 days of no water last Saturday. It was still never easy from fixed firm to the end, but I did it. It’s not that hard to go ten days without drinking in class. If you’re ready for it (meaning you’ve been coming for awhile), I recommend giving it a try. It’s really not that difficult physically. It’s much more of a mental thing.

On Day 11, I pondered drinking water because my 10 day challenge was over, but I went ahead without my water. I suffered (only slightly, but still) from fixed-firm to the end. This is an improvement. When I began I had a hard time for the entire floor series, but again, I want to stress that this was a mental challenge.

Will I drink water again in class? Of course I will. I am lined up to do a double on May 4th and it’s gonna be back-to-back (9:00 and followed by the 11:30 followed by watch me eat a tub full of nachos). I will absolutely take some water during the first class so it has time to process and be useful to my body in the second one. I may or may not drink during the second class. I reserve the right to see how I feel and just go with it.

I would also always drink water in class if I was sick/had a cold or if I was physically crashing out. No point in saying, “I did that class with no water!” if I died in the middle of it, right? ๐Ÿ™‚ This isn’t an ego thing. Once you get through the initial 10 days just use common sense. This ultimately isn’t about how many days you can rack up with no water. It’s about testing limits and really challenging yourself to pay attention to what you put into your body and why.

If it seems overwhelming to make a 10 day committment (and note you do not have to go to 10 classes in a row. i mised a couple of days along the way), just try one or two to get the feel for what it’s like and to what extent, if any, it’s a mental issue for you. I realize now how much I used to obssess about the water. I rarely took it at Party Time and instead waited until after standing bow. This was a habit. By the time we hit standing bow I was already focused on getting my water and less so on the posture. Break your routine. See what you learn about yourself. It’s bound to be interesting.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1285 Muscle Supplement
    May 01, 2013 @ 18:47:54

    Admiring the dedication you put into your site and in depth information you present.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information.

    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Reply

  2. Linda Bartosik
    May 01, 2013 @ 22:47:36

    Kudos to you! I haven’t had water in class for close to two years now. When I found out it was making me sick in class I dropped it fast. (I hate being nauseous and will go to any length to avoid it! Lol!) Now it’s perfectly normal not to have it, and it would be weird TO have it! Lol! I always enjoy your challenges!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 02, 2013 @ 19:04:48

      That’s great Linda! I’m so glad that has worked out for you. It’s so interesting how things like drinking water in class can effect our practice. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 23:57:06

    The 10-Day No Water… http://t.co/s5fhEOeNb4 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

