Recipe of the Week: Homemade Crunchwrap Supreme

Homemade crunchwrap supreme is our recipe of the week! When you click on the link, you will notice that this recipe is NOT vegan. Heck, it’s not even vegetarian. But I eyed it over and knew I could make it vegan (you can also make it vegetarian very easily too).

Also, before we go on you should know that when you click on the link you might get a message that suggests you might not want to go any further. I don’t know what this happens, but I have experienced zero issues with clicking through to the site. You do what you want.

Let’s start with how easy it is to make this. It will take you 30 minutes to make two of these from start to finish if you do them as vegan or vegetarian. This is a great meal to make on a weeknight if you don’t have much time to spend on cooking (or have a lot of time but don’t want to spend it in the kitchen!).

This is so easy to veganize that you don’t really need me to explain it, but I will anyways. Obviously I took out the meat. I replaced the meat with refried beans (check the label to make sure they are vegetarian if you care about that). I warmed the beans up in a pan and then spread them on the flour tortilla in place of the meat.

Instead of actual cheese, I used daiya shreds. I am not a huge daiya fan, but it works on something like this. It will melt, and there are so many other ingredients in the crunchwrap that it works fine. I also used Follow Your Heart vegan sour cream. I got the daiya at Whole Foods and the sour cream at a local chain grocer (because they don’t carry it at Whole Foods which is just weird to me).

Obviously you could use real cheese and real sour cream and keep it vegetarian.

As far as handling the tortillas and layering everything on, I followed those directions exactly. I also found that it was easy to fold and make the wrap.

When it came time to cook these, and I had two, I opted for a panini press and not a frying pan. I could cook them both side by side at the same time and not have to worry about flipping them. It took about five-ish minutes and worked perfectly. Here’s the result:

Eat up!

Eat up!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. E-Mail
    May 04, 2013 @ 08:03:34

    It looks Yummo!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 00:34:56

    Recipe of the Week:… http://t.co/VHmEHljcZb #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 15:20:17

    Recipe of the Week:… http://t.co/VHmEHma0nn #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

