We’re Having a Breakdown in the Back Corner. Please Ignore.

Starting in May, and continuing until sometime in August, I am doing one double a week. Because I am insane I think. That’s why. I don’t know. It’s something different to do. I’m trying it out while I have some time on my hands. Apparently this is the kind of thing I think is a good idea when I have free time.

The first May double was scheduled for Saturday, May 4th at 9:00 and then 11:30. This time was picked by my yoga buddy, who was going to do it with me, and allowed for only an hour between classes. That had me freaked out a bit, but I agreed to do it.

Well, my yoga buddy ended up not being able to do the May 4th date so we shifted back to April 30th and did the – wait for it – 4:30 and 6:30 classes. This gave us only a 30 minute break. The results are entertaining.

First, if you are interested in doing a double, let me start by saying this: Do not do your first double the way we did ours. That is the worst idea ever. Give youself several hours between classes. I’ve done many doubles, and they have been very enjoyable, but this class totally kicked my butt. Anyways, for your entertainment (or learning purposes), here’s how it all went down.

Class #1

Class #1 was fine. It was just like any other class. Of course I hadย eaten well and hydrated before I arrived for this party so I was good to go. Although I have been not drinking water in class recently, I did have water in Class #1. I started drinking during the floor series so my body would have time to process it for Class #2. I recommend this approach.

Class #1 was hot but not terribly crowded. I did my postures and then left the room to take a break before Class #2.

Class #2

Class #2 is where all the action was baby! My yoga buddy (YB)ย and I set up in the third row, in a corner, near a door. We did not set up by a door because we thought we might bolt from the room. I just happen to like this spot. It’s a great place to hide out. Our 4:30 teacher joined us in support. She’s so awesome.

Class #2 was full, stinky, and hot. YB later reported that the class seemed to go on for hours, or maybe she said it felt like days or months. You know that class. For me, it felt like I was in suspended animation the whole time right from the get go. We were a mess from the start! Let me walk you through the class:

Pranyama & That Half-Moon Stuff: Did it. Don’t remember much except I did it.

Awkward: I can come out of this posture early because I can. I can too. Watch me come out early both sets.

Eagle: I changed my mat out between classes, right? Why does it not look like I did that?

Party-Time! I am sitting down and drinking.

Head to Knee: Did I do this posture? I am not sure.

Standing Bow: Whoops! Looks like we’re both starting to crash out. I did one bow on each side. Good enough. Did I do second set? I don’t think so.

Balancing Stick: I may have done one set. I may have done nothing. Who can really say?

Standing Separate Leg Stretching Pose: Did both sets! Need a break.

Triangle: HA! Do you really think I did any of triangle in this class?

At this point the instructor comes by our mats and drops off some Emergen-C packets. I rip mine open, shoot as much powder as I can into my mouth, and chase it with water. It does help.

Standing Separate….this it getting to long: I am feeling better thanks to the emergen-c. I did both sets. YB is not taking her emergen-c for some reason. She has thrown her packet on my mat. I throw it back at her. I start telling her she has to take it. She can’t understand where the packet came from. I try to explain. We’re having a breakdown in the back corner. Everyone ignores us.

Tree and Toe: Did it and done!

Savassanah: YB bolts out the door. This frightens me as YB is much tougher than me. YB once threw up in the middle of a Mary Jarvis seminar and came back and finished! This makes her a legend. I am pretty sure she has gone off to die. I will miss her greatly.

Somewhere between Savassanah and Wind Removing: YB returns. I told you she was tough. The debate about the emergen-c packet comes up again. I think we’re in wind removing now. YB doesn’t want to drink when she’s not supposed to. I tell her it’s ok because she’s dying. You can break water rules when you’re dying. She finally takes it.

Sit-Ups: All my sit ups are pathetic. Every last one of them. Except of course for the ones I didn’t do. Those were my best.

Spine-Strengthening Series: I really am feeling better. I do most of this. I come out of cobra early both times because my lower back is cramping.

Fixed-Firm: We’re gonna make it! We’re almost there.

Camel: I didn’t do triangle. Certainly you don’t think I even sat up for camel.

Rabbit: No.

Stretching: I will sit up. I will do the third part since it’s in competition. Wait, no I won’t. Good thought though.

Spine-Twisting: Faked it.

Final Breathing: Done!

The Aftermath

After stuffing myself full of nachos (while wearing my pajamas because it was 8:15 at night), I came home and crawled into bed sometime around 10:00. I babbled to Mark about the class without any particular point (“You have yoga diarrhea of the mouth,” he said). I fell asleep only to wake up four times. The first three times I discovered I was sore in a new place. The fourth time I woke up starving but was too exhausted to get food.

Somehow I dragged myself out of bed and into the 9:00 am class the next day as it was my only option for class that day. I stole the spot of one of the nicest Yoga Buddies ever, but when he found out it was my third class in less than 24 hours he told me I was allowed to set up anywhere I wanted. He set up next to me. I like practicing next to him in the back. Very calming. I sipped on my water and stretched out my hamstrings. They were so very, very sore.

After class a student was in the lobby talking about something in the dialogue with the teacher. We had dialogue in class today? Huh, who knew? ๐Ÿ™‚

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    May 06, 2013 @ 07:32:33

    This was a hilarious post! I just finished my fifth Bikram class (on a trial) and am still processing what I think of it. (Yet planning on going back today to purchase a ten-class card !) Your blog has been very helpful to me! Thanks for what you do!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 06, 2013 @ 07:45:28

      Keep with it Pat! It may take some time before you really know what you think of it. I promise you it is worth it. You are doing great things for yourself. Glad the blog is helpful. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  2. teenieyogini
    May 06, 2013 @ 09:51:28

    Oh! Leigh! I’m sorry that sucked, but your review is hilarious! I live back to back doubles.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 06, 2013 @ 12:12:43

      These back to back doubles are hard! I’m guessing we’ll do it again. You do doubles every week, right? I’m just starting that (this is my second week). Please tell me it’s worth it.

      Reply

      • teenieyogini
        May 06, 2013 @ 14:17:45

        I think so. I almost always feel like my 2nd class is stronger.

        Reply

        • leighahall
          May 06, 2013 @ 14:45:27

          Outside of the second class being stronger (which I have experienced), do you notice any other benefits? I’m going to try this once a week doubles thing for 2-3 months. I’m just wondering what I might expect outside that second class. Is it worth it?

          Reply

          • teenieyogini
            May 06, 2013 @ 17:40:02

            I think it is. I do it because I think it’s fun. I like practicing with different people. I like the way it feels to be tired after class. Usually (not last month, because I was moving and stuff), I practice so much that I don’t get as much of that yoga euphoria from just one class. One class doesn’t make me sore and I start to feel like I’m not making progress. So I take doubles to push myself to that feeling of “this is extreme, but I’m surviving, so I must be awesome” feeling that this yoga creates. When I go through phases where one class is consistently challenging, I don’t take doubles.

            Reply

          • teenieyogini
            May 06, 2013 @ 17:50:51

            Occasionally, I just do it because I want to eat cake or pasta or something.

            Reply

  3. Marcy Palmeri
    May 06, 2013 @ 09:53:37

    I love your sense of humor:)

    Reply

  4. Christa Provenzano
    May 06, 2013 @ 11:46:01

    I couldn’t have asked for a better yoga buddy to do a double with. Your humor is truly what got me through class # 2 Leigh! ๐Ÿ™‚ What I took from doing this double is that you learn from your mistakes. There will be a few things I’ll do different next time…but there will be plenty of next times becuase it was all worth it!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 06, 2013 @ 12:14:17

      As the wise Cheryl says, “Sometimes you’re like a rock star. Other times you’re like a rock star in rehab.” We were in full on rehab mode. ๐Ÿ™‚ We’ll do it again!

      Reply

  5. anjakimberley
    May 08, 2013 @ 07:12:47

    Haha, love this, been sat giggling at work. I was actually looking for inspiration to get through a back to back later – these I can psych myslef up for, but after work? Eech. It’s so reassuring to know that others feel that ‘bolt out of the door’ feeling. I don’t always, but when I do I’m sure it’s just lack of energy that keeps me on the mat!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 09, 2013 @ 14:33:09

      I like taking class at the end of the day because it helps me stretch it all out. Glad the post made you laugh! These kinds of classes happen. Nothing to do BUT laugh. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  6. Trackback: Doubles Friday Fun! | My Bikram Yoga Life
  7. Trackback: 29 Classes in 27 Days | My Bikram Yoga Life
  8. http://www.cureaddict.com/
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 02:56:21

    I am genuinely grateful to the owner of this web site who has shared this enormous post at
    at this time.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Revisiting the Double | My Bikram Yoga Life
  10. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 25, 2014 @ 03:18:15

    We’re… http://t.co/GbH0RDT3DH #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  11. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 21:06:44

    We’re… http://t.co/Pbr9IkJtTj #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

