May Floor Bow!

Well, it’s the beginning of a new month which means it’s time to update my floor bow. I think we can just let the pictures speak for themselves:

Floor Bow in November 2012

November Floor Bow

 

April Floor Bow

April Floor Bow

 

May Floor Bow

May Floor Bow

I had low expectations. I know to be patient. However, my yoga buddy who took these pictures made a nice point. She had me look at the shape my bow was making and noted that once I could get myself up higher I would likely go right into a tear drop. If you look back at Novemeber’s floor bow, you can see a dramatic difference in terms of a tear drop shape forming. Pretty amazing stuff. My legs might be up a bit higher than April, but I can never be too sure about that.

Anyways, to make myself feel better I also had my buddy take pictures of my standing bow and then, just for fun, me trying to get into leg breaking. Here they are. Feel free to critique:

Standing Bow

Standing Bow

Leg breaking is not too bad. I just can’t seem to get my left foot hooked under my rib. I’m so close!

Almost there!

Almost there!

I can at least get my right hand into prayer. I used to fall over when I lifted it up. 🙂

What postures are you working on?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    May 07, 2013 @ 09:35:59

    Leg breaking = awesome! Go you!!!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 07, 2013 @ 20:57:16

      Can you do leg breaking? I’m trying to figure out how to get my toes to hook under my ribcage. I might not be ready for it yet because I end up with a massive foot cramp.

      Reply

      • teenieyogini
        May 07, 2013 @ 21:51:41

        I took advanced at two different studios and both times the leader said “we just skip this entire section because no one can do it” so, I’ve never tried.

        Reply

        • leighahall
          May 08, 2013 @ 07:29:05

          We used to say the same thing about leg breaking. The first time I tried it was when taking advanced with Joseph. My right side stinks, but my left side was pretty good right from the start! So you may be able to do it.

          Reply

  2. teenieyogini
    May 07, 2013 @ 22:33:39

    Because you are so cool,
    And I am a nerd.
    And I think your man-bow is fascinating…

    I took my protractor to your pictures. It is definitely improving!!!!
    I measures the outer angles from the floor to your chin, and the floor to your knees. Bigger numbers indicate a greater degree of lift.
    Floor to Chin:
    Nov= 30 degrees
    April = 34 degrees
    May = 36 degrees

    Floor to knee:
    Nov = 24 degrees
    April = 33 degrees (whoa dude! That’s a huge jump!)
    May = 36 degrees

    I also measured the inner angles from your knee crack to heel, and arm pit to wrist. These numbers will decrease as the teardrop shape develops.

    Knee to heel:
    Nov = 72 degrees
    April = 67 degrees
    May = 65 degrees

    Arm pit to wrist:
    Nov = 77 degrees
    April = 66 degrees (DUDE!)
    May = 65 degrees

    * now, I took these on my iPad screen using a plastic protractor that was intent on sliding around, they are probably not perfect or exact, but you could always print the pictures on paper and double check… I also had to kind of guess a little bit on the November picture because the light and the lady’s head are blocking parts of you. But, I think the numbers are accurate enough to say you are absolutely improving! Keep up the awesome, inspiring work!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 08, 2013 @ 07:31:50

      I love you Teenie! You always think of great ways to figure out if I’m improving my floor bow. Even if the numbers are a bit off, I think they are good enough to show improvement. You made my day (again)!

      Reply

      • teenieyogini
        May 08, 2013 @ 10:36:42

        I love the amount of time and effort and thought you put into improving your floor bow. I think the process is fascinating, and you motivate me to work on the postures I dislike/struggle with. I love you too!

        Reply

        • leighahall
          May 08, 2013 @ 20:43:45

          I really do think the process is fascinating. That’s why I wanted to document one posture that I stunk at. You are helping me see my improvements when they aren’t always so easy to spot on the surface. That keeps me motivated. 🙂

          Reply

    • leighahall
      May 08, 2013 @ 07:34:07

      Also, I tried, and I cannot rotate my shoulders like you do. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

