Bikram Yoga: Secret to a Strong Immune System?

Actually, if you practice all the time this probably isn’t a secret to you at all, but I wanted to put it out there. I realized the other day that the last time I got sick was right before I started my 66-Day challenge last year. I kept feeling like I might be coming down with something. I would go to class, that feeling would leave, and then the cycle would repeat itself.

Eventually I had to go out of town, and I didn’t get to practice for 24-48 hours. Wham! That’s when I got sick. It wasn’t terrible, just a little cold, but it was something. I started my challenge with that cold. Fun, right?

Ever since my challenge I practice 5-7 days a week. And you know what? I am not getting sick. To be fair, I did feel like I was a bit ill following the regionals last November. However, I think that was due to stress and training myself really hard right up to the competition. As soon as the competition was over (literally – as in when I was eating dinner that night), I started to go down hill. Took me 2-3 days to recover. I just needed to lay around and rest. I’m not sure this was me being sick so much as it was me being exhautsed and worn out on multiple levels.

Other than that, I have not been sick at all for a year. I find that amazing. Prior to ramping up my practice, I easily got sick 1-2 times a year. Not anything major, but still sick. I also got sick if Mark was sick. We passed our germs back and forth. During this last year there was a time he became sick, and I thought, “Great. I’ll get it for sure,” but I didn’t!

What are your experiences? How do you find that your practice has improved your overall health?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    May 08, 2013 @ 07:37:06

    I agree! I used to get sinus infections at least twice a year, even with my precious neti pot. Now that I practice about 6x a week I’ve been able to fight them off!

    Reply

  2. Penelope
    May 08, 2013 @ 23:45:58

    I think it’s the heat and some magic with those compression postures. I used to get colds reliably 3-4 times a year and now I never do, ever. I have had the odd mild flu like thing but most took one day of rest and boom, gone. (I wont practice with a fever, but I’ll practice through anything else.) And I have five kids, so you can imagine what I am exposed to!

    p.s. Leigh, if you are gonna be at the Texas asana championships, I will be competing for sure! (Ack!) it would be lovely to say hi if you have time, but otherwise I’ll let you know who to look for closer to the time. (My name isn’t ACTUALLY Penelope…. shocking I know.)

    Reply

  3. MIke Mitchell
    May 09, 2013 @ 22:12:02

    I have not had more than a brief head cold or sniffles since beginning to practice in May 2011. Chicago winters, flu season…nothing more than sniffles in two years. I generally didn’t get sick very often before I started yoga either but the strengthening of my whole body and immune system seems to flow from yoga. Never felt better or more energized day to day.

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 04:26:29

    Bikram Yoga: Secret… http://t.co/9009NAW1yr #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 02:39:21

    Bikram Yoga: Secret… http://t.co/9009NBMOWD #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

