Favorite Things: Captains of Crush

Do you want to do cool advanced postures like finger stand

Finger Stand Joseph Style

Finger Stand Joseph Style

or lifting lotus?

I like Joseph.

I like Joseph.

If you do, then you might need to strengthen your fingers. If, like me, you found you didn’t get very far when you first tried these postures then you already know this. BUT, the one thing you may not know is you will also benefit if you strengthen your grip (at least this is what my physical therapist tells me, and so far he’s been on the money).

We’ll talk about finger strengthening another time. I have some recommendations on how to do that. For now, let’s talk about grip strengthening. For this we turn to the Captains of Crush grippers. While my PT said I needed to strengthen my grip, he said I did not need to buy anything. He explained how I could use ordinary household items to accomplish improving my grip strength. I’m sure he’s right. I just went out and bought something because it’s easier.

I have the #1401 which is for beginners and senior citizens. No shame, people. No shame. When I got these grippers, I could barely do five on each hand. I’ve been at it about a month or so now, and I can do almost 20 closes on my right hand. Sadly, my left hand is at only eight, but it’s getting better. I train with these 2-3 times per week. Now, I also do additional finger strength training which I’ll discuss in a later post. I don’t think one or the other is the answer here. You gotta do both.

Overall, the training is improving my lifting lotus. I cannot say if it is improving my finger stand because I’m not working on finger stand at this time. If you’re into these postures (and I am), and you need to build strength in your grip and/or fingers (hey! that’s me!), I recommend working in the Captains of Crush.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Favorite Things: Gripmaster Pro Hand Exerciser | My Bikram Yoga Life
  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 21:20:57

    Favorite Things: Captains of Crush http://t.co/RTSwmSoi7Z #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

