Doubles Friday Fun!

Last Friday my studio had an official double days. I thought it was a great idea. Over the course ofthe day (6:00, 9:00,12:00 and 4:30) about 10 people did a double. After the 4:30 class there was a little party at the Greek restaurant next door. It was fun!

The day was advertised via the studio’s FB page, twitter, and a flyer on the wall. The flyer allowed you to sign up. I think it’s great to show people how many of us (and who) is doing the double. I think we had two people participate that had never done one before. But anyways, if you’d never done a double before and were interested this let you see who was going to be doing it right there along with you. You didn’t have to do it alone. No matter what class you went to on Friday, there was at least one other person in there who was participating.

For me, my double this time was far better than last time. My first class was actually the most difficult. I woke up with a stuffed up nose and some allergy issues. I was only breathing out of one nostril. Usually this clears up within the first 10 minutes of class, but not on this day. For class #1, I was only able to breathe out of one nostril for most of the standing series. This meant I was not getting enough oxygen. I got a bit dizzy and didn’t feel so good. Someone later told me it was insanely hot in the room. I won’t say how hot it supposedly was because for all I know it was a rumor. Let’s just go with, “Holy crap. Really?”

Side Note: My idea of gossip is what the actual temperature/humidity levels were in a yoga room on a given day. Is my life interesting or what?

By my second class my breathing was normal, and I did not have any major issues. I still didn’t do camel though. I did do everything else. I had an awesome standing head to knee in class #2. I thought I was going to fall, but I held on and got it solid. I came out with control like I’m supposed to. Hooray! I also had some great standing bows on both sides.

Now I have to decide when I’m doing my next double. My studio is going to do an official doubles day each month I think, but I’m doing one a week until August. Anyone out there doing a double this week? If not, want to?

 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    May 13, 2013 @ 12:53:30

    I haven’t done a double with beginner class in a while. When I take advanced class I do take the beginner class before to loosen up- but that’s mentally different than two beginners. My studio doesn’t do group doubles, that sounds fun though!

    I try not to look at the temp./humidity of classes. I do LOVE class when it’s raining outside! Gotta enjoy that extra humidity!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 13, 2013 @ 14:08:56

      I thought group doubles was fun! Even though we all came at different times – not everyone did their first and second class together – just knowing someone else in my class was in the process of it was exciting. It’s really not the same as doing a beginner followed by advanced – you’re right.

      Did you sign up to do advanced with Emmy at the retreat? I did.

      Reply

      • tallmartha
        May 13, 2013 @ 15:04:29

        I haven’t signed up yet…. I’ll be finishing my last class for my masters and I don’t know if I’ll have time to take all that Thur. off yet. I’m guessing if I decide I have time I can sign up later… The other issue is that I can do too much in advanced!

        Reply

  2. Christa Provenzano
    May 13, 2013 @ 13:02:29

    The studio I am at here in NY has a Challenge Wheel. You write your personal challenge in the wheel and hang it in the lobby for all to see. I filed out my wheel on Friday and chose to do the challenge with you for the summer Leigh! A double once per week until the end of August. I am doing my double again on Friday this week at 6 am and 9 am. 🙂

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 13, 2013 @ 14:10:39

      Look at you go girl! I love that we are in this together (except when I disappear for 10 days to go to Puerto Rico. But I’ll think about you. Promise). I have such a busy week that my only option is Saturday with the 9 and 3. But it’s busy in a good way – acupuncture, hair, dinners, etc…I will think of you on Friday!

      Reply

      • alwaysgreatnevereasy
        May 14, 2013 @ 12:12:57

        As I wrote about in my blog I do an 8:00am/10:00am double every Sunday. This past Sunday was 16 weeks straight and 17 out of 18. Often, not always, but often the 2nd class is the best class of the week, more flexibility and more energy flowing from the first class. I also intersperse AM/PM doubles during the week. Typically those would be 6:00am/7:30pm a couple/few days a week. I will be doing one of those this Friday and I will think of you as I go. I’m finishing a self imposed 30 day challenge leading up to an Esak posture clinic at my studio this Sunday.

        Reply

        • leighahall
          May 15, 2013 @ 12:49:21

          Thanks for thinking of me! Today was my 22nd class is 20 days (I think – something like that!). My next double is Saturday. I’m doing the 9 and 3. Enjoy your clinic with Esak! I did not get to go when he was nearby, but I hear it is great.

          Reply

          • MIke Mitchell
            May 15, 2013 @ 22:46:44

            22 in 20! That’s great–way to go!. Didn’t know you were working on a challenge. Tomorrow will be my 27th class on my way to Day 30 on Sunday (with Friday double, day 30 be Saturday afternoon). I’ll report back about Esak’s clinic. I’m sure it will be great.

            Reply

            • leighahall
              May 16, 2013 @ 16:00:15

              I think my challenge is doing one double a week (for any week that I’m in town through mid-August – then my schedule changes). You’re almost to Day 30!!!! Congrats!!!!

              Reply

  3. Karen
    May 13, 2013 @ 23:57:14

    Congratulations! Your posts are endlessly inspiring, keep me motivated. Had such a tough class tonight – nauseous, dizzy, shaking, losing my breath, (I’m a newbie) but I kept thinking of dignity of doing my best, no matter. I’m home, post bath, and still shaking but feel great. Post class, lots of comments that it was a brutal class. I’m not sure what that means, but it was a delightful journey all in all, practicing dropping any struggle to just be. I’d just like to thank you for all that you share!!! One day, a double. 🙂

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 14, 2013 @ 07:38:01

      Thanks Karen and welcome to the practice! Getting control of your breath is so important and will likely make class easier for you. It took me awhile though to learn how to do that. Sounds like you were not alone in your struggles. Just hang in there and keep going. It’s worth it. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Trackback: 29 Classes in 27 Days | My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. Trackback: Revisiting the Double | My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 00:48:06

    Doubles Friday Fun! http://t.co/PoiM7cuV3D #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 16:50:48

    Doubles Friday Fun! http://t.co/PoiM7dlIrP #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

