Recipe of the Week: Polenta Fries

When I first read about polenta fries, I was intrigued but confused. I could not figure out what to serve with them! I mean, if you are not a vegetarian or a vegan, I am sure you could find a lovely meat dish to pair. But since I am a vegetarian/vegan hybrid, I did not have that option. So for awhile I did nothing.

Then, one day the light bulb went off in my head. Duh! Polenta fries was the reason I dragged Teenie Yogini to a particular restaurant during our yoga party back in March. Polenta fries was all I had for dinner that night. They are delicious if you cover them in blue cheese dressing (which I did so this dish is vegetarian).

The website for the dish will not give you grand amounts of information. I use Mark Bittman’s recipe from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, but you can also find it here. I left out the butter and cheese for this. I suggest you leave out the cheese because you will be frying the polenta later. I used almond milk in place of whole milk. I have made polenta with whole milk plenty of times. This was my first time using almond milk, and I did a 1:1 substitution. It worked just fine.

So make your polenta, get it in a dish, and let it cool in the fridge. I had my polenta in the fridge by 2:00.

I couldn’t get the polenta out of the pan so I decided to cut it out. This worked fine. I just cut it into strips and sized my fries how I wanted them. I got my frying pan going and tossed them in.

Now, side note here, the day before all this I made blue cheese dressing. I did not use the recipe I linked to. I put it here as a suggestion. I used a recipe from an old issue of Cook’s Country. It’s an amazing recipe, but it doesn’t come free. Making blue cheese dressing takes 5-10 minutes and is way more delicious than anything you will have from a pre-made bottle. I suggest making it the night before. It tends to taste better on Day 2, and it will hold for a week (in my opinion, just make your salad dressings at home. i have never regretted this).

Back to the fries. They were a bit challenging in the pan. We had problems with them sticking. I eventually turned the whole thing over to Mark as he was having better luck than me. We think you might want to use a non-stick pan if you have one. We don’t have any.

That said, in the end the fries turned out great! Some got a little messed up, but I think that’s to be expected. I slathered my fries with blue cheese and chowed down. If this is not enough for you, consider having a salad alongside.

Polenta Fries Slathered in Blue Cheese

Polenta Fries Slathered in Blue Cheese

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    May 17, 2013 @ 09:11:04

    I am so going to do that!

    Reply

  2. tallmartha
    May 17, 2013 @ 13:07:39

    I’ve never had polenta fries… Are they worth the effort?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

