My Bikram Tattoo Collection

Yep. I admit it. I have a collection of Bikram tattoos all over my body. I bet you do to if you’ve been practicing for awhile. If not, then this post will give you something to look forward to. It started a couple of weeks ago when I looked down at my sad, scabby knees (don’t worry. i am not including pictures). My knees were always and forever scabby looking, it seemed, since last summer when I tried to perfect mountain pose. If you looked at the video, you will see that mountain requires you to balance on both knees.

Well, mountain is very, very hard. It looks simple on the surface, but it isn’t. Go ahead. Try it. I’ll wait.

See? What’d I tell you?

Mountain is worth nine points in competition if you can pull it off. I feel in love with mountain right away and spent all of last summer working on it. I also worked on short person (note: the way this posture is shown on the video is not how I understand it to be performed. however, the guy shows a great warm-up, and you get the gist). So my knees got all banged up last year between May-November, and they are still banged up to this day.

I was complaining to Mark recently how my knees don’t seem to heal and I’m tired of how they look. He examined them, informed me I had callouses, and that it was a result of constantly trying to do yoga poses that require me to balance on me knees. Ok – makes sense. His advice, and I quote, “If you would stop going down on your knees everyday then you wouldn’t have this problem.”

Uh-huh. Thanks for that advice…..Are you hearing yourself over there? 🙂

But rather than refer to this as the problem I have from constantly getting down on my knees, a lovely Yoga Buddy proclaimed them to be Bikram Tattoos. I love that. I think it’s super fitting.

Recently, I gathered around with a couple other Yoga Buddies, and we shared our Bikram Tattoos with each other. They included:

(a) Our knees. Everyone has at least one tattoo on their knee. Most have one on both.

(b) underneath our chins (probably from locust or any other time we might be putting our chins on the floor)

(c) various fingers, usually a knuckle

Where are your Bikram Tattoos?

 

 

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    May 20, 2013 @ 06:25:55

    Elbows! The flowtech does them in! I don’t even know how that happens!

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    May 20, 2013 @ 08:02:24

    Elbows? How are your elbows getting it? I’m trying to think of when I have my elbows on the floor.

    Reply

  3. tallmartha
    May 20, 2013 @ 11:20:45

    My knees have those marks on my knees! I don’t have anything on my chin, which is good! Oh, and middle knuckles can get messed up on each hand in the winter when my skin is dry.

    Reply

  4. Penelope
    May 20, 2013 @ 17:33:43

    I have them on my elbows, too, from practicing forearm stand. I also have yoga stigmata on my feet.

    Reply

  5. kerryalina
    May 20, 2013 @ 21:42:12

    The backs of my heels are permanently red and shiny! They’re constantly rubbing on the towel/carpet during situps.

    Reply

  6. Christie
    May 22, 2013 @ 12:57:17

    The tops of my feet. I was so excited to have real battle wounds.

    Reply

  7. shannon michelle
    May 27, 2013 @ 02:53:10

    my knees and knuckles are pretty terrible, and I also have the “yoga stigmata” mentioned above. sometimes, my iliac crest area gets it if i wear bra tops instead of full-length tops. i, too, have heard the comment about “not spending so much time on my knees,” and just laugh. i’ve tried every type of towel, and even the ones without the loopy fibers seem to cause issues. still, it’s worth it.

    Reply

  8. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 23:19:37

    My Bikram Tattoo Collection http://t.co/qDl7Q6alrV #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  9. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 00:30:15

    My Bikram Tattoo Collection http://t.co/XPmQgwyW6P #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

