29 Classes in 27 Days

As I’ve today, I’ve done 29 classes over a period of 27 days. It almost looks like I’m doing a 30-day challenge except I’m not. Having done a 66-Day challenge last year, doing 30 classes in a row no longer seems like a challenge. It seems like, well, it seems like I’m just going to class.

I know. La-Di-Freaking-Da, right? I assure you, I do not think this kind of a streak makes me special.

I can remember the first time I tried to go five days in a row. Class three was awful. So awful in fact that I decided to take day four off. I came back for day five. But my first attempt at five days in a row? Didn’t work out as planned. Eventually I managed to pull it off and I thought I was something else! I remember going to the studio that day and telling the instructor it was my fifth day in a row. Holy cow! Five whole days in a row! I was pleased as punch with myself.

You know what? That’s fine. I should have been. That was a major accomplishment for me. We should celebrate our accomplishments, and doing five days in a row for the first time ever is just as exciting and wonderful as the person who did a 30-Day challenge for the first time ever. We’re all in different places my friends. Let’s celebrate.

I will say that this time around I have had only one day so far when I didn’t feel like going to class (Class #24), but I went anyways. I had that same, tired conversation we probably all have with ourselves when we’re going to class this much. You know it. The, “I’ve done X classes. I could take one day off. Yeah, I said I wouldn’t take a day off, but honestly, would it hurt?”

No. Of course it wouldn’t hurt if I took one day off. That’s not the point. The point is I made a deal with myself. And it goes like this:

I go to class every day from April 25th until I leave for vacation (sometime in June). Once a week, I do a double. It’s really that double thing that’s the challege. Oh it was fun the first time I did it (or maybe it was just funny). It was definitely fun the second week. But the third week? Oh how I dreaded the third go around for no particular reason other than I was tired of it already. Why do I make these rules up for myself?

And this is why doing 29 classes in 27 days is just as valid of a challenge as doing five classes in five days. It’s not JUST about showing up and taking the class. It’s about all the mental, emotional, and physical stuff we deal with in-between and during these classes. I keep finding ways to push myself because I want to face the things that come up, deal with them, go through them, and push past them. We’re all in this together. You gotta start somwehere.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy T.
    May 21, 2013 @ 10:52:48

    4 days in a row with a double thrown in the mix (to make up 5 classes total) somehow is easier than 5 days in a row in my book anywho….I just added other forms of workouts after only doing bikram yoga for the past 3 years. Already I’ve noticed how my stronger abs are helping me past the plateau I reached in the bikram poses I was stuck in and not being able to push through. Some resistance and cardio training classes TRX, HIIT/TRX, Turbo Kick, and Barbell Strength- Congrats on your 29 in 27, you ROCK!!!!

    Reply

  2. Christy T.
    May 21, 2013 @ 11:11:28

    I also ADDED PROTEIN to my diet (75 grams/day). I was only using dinnertime to get my protein fix (through chicken breast, salmon, etc.). I am drinking whey protein powder mixed with water within 30 minutes of waking up (25 grams protein), other good sources of protein to eat throughout the day are quinoa, cottage cheese, egg whites, protein bars (no sugars or transfats preferably), bison. If you don’t feel comfortable drinking some sort of protein before a morning bikram yoga class or if you don’t have 3 hours to digest it before class then just wait and try to get it in within 20 minutes after class-It is optimal to drink your protein within 20 minutes after your workout to help strengthen your muscles! I’m not sure if you’re already doing this but I thought I would share this with you since I’ve found it to be so beneficial to me.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 22, 2013 @ 12:29:16

      I used to eat bison. It was much better than I expected it to be! I am totally addicted to quinoa right now. I had no idea all the different things you could do with it. Thanks for all the info.

      Reply

  3. MIke Mitchell
    May 21, 2013 @ 23:10:07

    I know what you mean about 30 day challenges being more or less the same thing as just going to class. Last year I did 102 days, earlier this year I did 60 and this past Saturday I finished a 30. Our studio just announce a studio wide 30 day challenge starting June 1. Of course I’m in! I should be able to about 7 classes from Mem Day to June 1 anyway. With that much of a lead in, it might turn into another 60 who knows. I try to average a class a day anyway so its more like a fun thing to chart as opposed to a huge deal. It does motivate me to make up missed days with more doubles. I’ve been pretty much living in “challenge mode” since last August with intermittent breaks. Still, it’s great to practice every day or close to it. As opposed to being a struggle to go to class, it kills me not to be able to go on the days I can’t due to work and childcare schedules. On the other hand, its’s great to spend time with my kids so that’s the balance in it all.

    Reply

  4. leighahall
    May 22, 2013 @ 12:47:18

    102 days is amazing! I so want to do a 100 day challenge but have not been able to make it work. I could make it work this time of year, but I like to travel. It is a fun thing to chart these classes. I am charting my summer classes on my fridge. And I get what you mean about balance. I have a week coming up where it’s hard to get a double in because of social events, and I think I’m going to let it go as opposed to trying to force it in.

    Reply

  5. Karen
    May 26, 2013 @ 19:45:05

    Thanks for all of the inspiration! I’m starting my first ever challenge – a 45 day challenge starting Tuesday. My intention is just show up every day (but Friday cuz I can’t make classes that day.) My neighbor is going to join me on the journey. I’ve never done a challenge so wish me luck! Also bought the stretch book and strap you recommended and will do this on Fridays as well as on other days, esp weekends while watching cooking shows. Thanks for all that you share!!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      May 27, 2013 @ 20:44:20

      Karen that is so exciting about your challenge starting! I would love to hear how it goes. Just show up and take the experience for what it is. That’s my advice. Hope you enjoy the strap. I love it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

