Recipe of the Week: Lemon Quinoa Salad

Lemon Quinoa Cilantro Chickpea Salad is our recipe of the week. This is going to make a nice summer salad. You could bring it to a potluck!

It does take a small amount of advanced planning. You’ll want to give yourself time to cook and then cool the quinoa. The interesting thing about preparing the quinoa for this recipe is that you soak it, and then cook it, in vegetable broth. It’s really nice and gives it a great flavor.

While I was soaking and cooking the quinoa, I went ahead and got my spinach, cilantro, garlic, and onions all diced up in the food processor.

Getting ready to add the garlic.

Getting ready to add the garlic.

I am sure you can get around not having a food processor, but why? Food processors are pretty awesome. I don’t use mine a whole lot, but when I do I am thankful for it.

Once my greens, garlic, and onion were all chopped up I went ahead and dumped in the chickpeas. Then I let it the chickpeas and the chopped up everything hang out and get to know each other for the rest of the afternoon (think a good three hours). Eventually, I wandered back into the kitchen and added the quinoa, made the dressing, and we ate it!

The finished product

The finished product

A few things to note: It is a bit on the watery side. We think you could cut this down by using less spinach or cilantro. Also, I ended up using two cans of chickpeas and only one avacado so play with it to your liking. You’ll notice the toasted pita. Well, I meant to make this, but totally forgot until the last minute. So I sent Mark to the store for pita bread. I just threw some olive oil and cracked pepper on it and toasted it in the oven. So worth it. The pita chips I had intended to make are likely better so do that and tell me how it goes!

This salad will save for at least a day. It was good 24 hours later, but it is best on day one as it starts to get soggy. I have zero confidence in it lasting beyond two days. This salad would also work well as a filling for a wrap if you are so inclined. I pretty much made the recipe to scale, and it made a ton. For the two of us, I would cut it in half (but maybe still use two cans of chickpeas because I really, really like chickpeas).

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Summer Potluck Favorites (Weekly Recipe Roundup) | Your Diabetes, Your Way | The My Diabetes Home Blog
  2. juicing fruits
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 22:47:52

    I am sure this article has touched all the internet people, its really really good article on building
    up new blog.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Lemon Quinoa Salad | My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. Trackback: Summer Potluck Favorites (Weekly Recipe Roundup) | Your Diabetes, Your Way
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 00:43:38

    Recipe of the Week: Lemon… http://t.co/O2HBKCo8Vh #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

