Favorite Things: Gripmaster Pro Hand Exerciser

As I’ve mentioned before, I want to be able to do lifting lotus. I intend to do it in competition, but I don’t even care about that. I just want to do the posture. I love the posture. I love learning how to do it. A bad lifting lotus is better than no lifting lotus if you ask me.

But to do lifting lotus, at least in the Bikram advanced series, you have to lift up on your fingertips and hold it, ideally, for a ten count. It is also ideal if you do not crash back down to the floor (which I tend to do a lot).

At first, my fingers were not very strong. I once asked Joseph how to build finger strength. His recommendation was to constantly move around on your fingertips when you are in the floor series. This advice seems to work for a lot of people, but it did not pan out well for me. My finger strength was not developing.

Enter the Gripmaster. The Gripmaster helped me build up my finger strength. I started with the yellow (3lb, extra light), but it was too easy. I then went back and ordered the blue (5lb) and the read (7lb). If you have no finger strength, I’d recommend ordering all three at once. Even though the yellow was very easy for me, I will use it as a warm-up. Additionally, my pinky finger is pretty weak so the yellow one is helping build strength there.

I use the Gripmaster 2-3 times a week, and it has made a huge difference in my lifting lotus. I use the Gripmaster alongside my Captains of Crush. Both benefit me in different ways, I think.

My lifting lotus still needs a lot of work, and there are still days when I try to lift up but fall over sideways or crash back down on my butt. But there are also days when I pop up off the ground and hold that thing in total stillness (true, these days are rare, but they DO happen).

So if you’re working on lifting lotus or finger stand, and you need to build up some finger strength, I definitely recommend this.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie
    May 30, 2013 @ 16:33:03

    I wonder if this will help with the hand grip for standing head to knee. My hands are SO slippery when I try the “advanced grip” to keep wrists straight! I’m glad you posted this, I’m gonna try it.

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 16:24:05

    Favorite Things:… http://t.co/4dAKq1AS5d #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

