Getting Back in the Groove

I’ve taken a couple of weeks off of blogging, but I’m ready to get back into the game. Did y’all miss me? I sure have missed y’all. I took some time off for a two reasons. First, I’m getting divorced. Yep. That’s right. The big D. It’s been crazy busy over here getting everything together. We’re getting ready to list our house. If you want to buy it, let me know. 🙂

Second, I was gone for 10-ish days to the fabulous Puerto Rico!!!! I went there for work and rolled it into a vacation. If you have not been to Puerto Rico, I highly recommend it. It’s a great combination of food, drink, shopping, and tons of outdoor activities. I have plenty to recommend if you need it.

Beef Tenderloin and Grits

Beef Tenderloin and Grits

As you can see from the above picture, I fell off my vegetarian/vegan bandwagon in Puerto Rico. It was worth it. I also drank a lot too.

A spicy margarita

A spicy margarita

Yeah – I had some detoxing to do when I got back. I’m not finished with it yet either.

There are no Bikram studios in Puerto Rico, and I chose not to do any yoga while I was there. Instead, I hiked about four miles up into the cloud forest, free-climbed up a small waterfall, and went rappelling alongside a 100 foot waterfall (scary!!!!). It was good to let the yoga go for a bit.

Sitting inside a cloud.

Sitting inside a cloud.

In the end, I took 12 days off from class. I started back up again last Saturday. I’m still feeling it. I hope to tell you about my return to class tomorrow, but just know that things are a bit sporadic right now with the chaos that I am living in. It’s all good though.

 

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 12:29:21

    Wow- Sounds like a lot of life changes! Those can be difficult to adjust to-I wish you luck with all your adventures!

    I’ve always wanted to go to Puerto Rico. You should put more pics up!

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 12:40:53

    Thanks Martha. I will definitely post more pictures!

    Reply

  3. Penelope
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 22:16:45

    It is lovely to see you back. 🙂 Sorry to hear about all the upheaval in your personal life — even necessary breakups are hard. Anything else I say will sound trite, so I shall stop there.

    Your trip sounds amazing! And there is nothing wrong with re-toxing (to detox, ha) once in a while. You know, everything in moderation, including moderation!

    One unrelated thing: Have you heard about the changes in the rules at USA Yoga? They are changing their qualifying process for nationals (not that this will affect me at all, but whatever), but also, apparently they are adding to the required postures. In addition to the five already, they are (I heard) adding balancing stick, locust, and camel. BUT my understanding is that you pick five of the eight. I do not know if there are any that you MUST do. The rules for optionals are the same. I will know more this weekend. None of this is up on their website yet; I’m just getting this from the people in Austin via our teachers and coaches here.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jun 25, 2013 @ 07:02:50

      Thanks Penelope. I like that – everything in moderation I including moderation!

      I had not heard about the rule changes, but I am also out of the loop a bit with the divorce and having been gone for awhile. Do let us know what you learn. I bet we have to keep standing head to knee. That one’s a classic! 🙂

      Reply

    • teenieyogini
      Jun 25, 2013 @ 09:06:13

      Oh n! Not stick! Ack!!!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: You’re Gonna Hurt for Two Weeks! | My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 17:29:39

    Getting Back in the Groove http://t.co/zSipnwobqt #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 25, 2014 @ 05:10:44

    Getting Back in the Groove http://t.co/zSipnwFMyx #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

