Bikram Yoga Has Messed Up My Sense of Hot and Cold

When I stepped off the plane in Puerto Rico, the first thing I thought was man, it is hot and humid here. But honestly, I was used to it in about 10 minutes. The thing I have learned is that my Bikram Yoga Practice has totally messed up my sense of what is hot and what is cold. Anything below 80 degrees is automatically cold. I am not joking with you. Warm is 80-99 degrees. It doesn’t really start to get hot until it hits 100.

That’s not to say I didn’t sweat in Puerto Rico because I totally did. Everyday I hauled my butt around town or somewhere interesting on the island, and everyday I sweated my butt off. I came back to my hotel room at the end of each day completely gross and stinky, but not as gross and stinky (usually) as I would be from a Bikram class. So it was fine. I showered at the end of each day and crashed out.

Near the end of my trip, I spent a day on a tour with Acampa. I recommend the full day tour if you ever go. One of my guides, Raymond, was even featured on the travel channel (scroll to minute 27 and see the waterhole we all got to jump into. it was definitely refreshing.). At the end of our trip, we piled back in the van and stopped at a store to get some drinks. I was sitting out front, enjoying my beverage – and chocolate of course! – when Raymond sat down next to me. He said he was tired, and he thought it must be the heat.

“It’s not hot,” I said without even thinking.

“How can you think this is not hot?” he responded.

The answer? Bikram yoga.

Bikram yoga has totally messed up what I consider to be hot and cold. The good news is I can now be comfortable in places most people find hot. The bad news is I have zero tolerance for cold (remember – anything below 80 starts feeling cool), and no desire to develop one.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 07:45:54

    Totally agree about being cold. But I find that I start sweating faster and more now days. I figured its because my body is more efficient at cooling off. Annoying though when I have to walk a mile to get to class and my shirt has sweat spots on it!

    Reply

    • teenieyogini
      Jun 27, 2013 @ 14:58:13

      I swear faster too!
      I can’t deal with cold, either. Sometimes, I’ll plan to take a day off from yoga, then get so cold the only way to warm up is to go practice.

      Reply

  2. insert foot here.
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 14:25:03

    Completely agree, and I definitely sweat faster. I also complain in the summer evenings after practicing and cleaning up…”It’s cold honey! Why is it so cold in here!” My fiance’s reply, “Babe, it’s 75 degrees in here, you’re crazy.”

    Reply

  3. MIke Mitchell
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 22:35:24

    I can definitely relate to the heat tolerance side of this discussion. I noticed since last summer that days everyone else was complaining about “so hot out” seemed nice and warm to me. Often I would have to think for a sec and realized “yeah, I guess it is pretty hot out, isn’t it?” Or “You think THIS is hot? Come with me….” I live in Chicago and this year summer is yet to really arrive. Maybe a few days in mid 80s here and there but its been cooler than usual and rainy often. Maybe rest of July and August will be nice. I find myself craving the heat outside the studio almost as much as I do in it. I’m hoping for a stretch of nice hot days. On the other hand, Bikram yoga has not made me averse to cold. I’m used to it. I take each season as it comes. I did notice that I get chilled easier having lost a lot of weight and body fat over the past two years and wear more long sleeves that I previously did but I’m weird in that I love both hot and cold weather. Nothing like leaving the house at 5:30 AM in the middle of January when it’s single digit temps for a 6:00 AM class. Can’t help but think, “I must be crazy….” Perhaps I am…but I love it…lol.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Bikram Yoga has Messed Up My Sense of Hot and Cold | My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 11, 2014 @ 20:58:40

    Bikram Yoga Has… http://t.co/7zhvoH9l4O #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 15:56:47

    Bikram Yoga Has… http://t.co/UjQ2lgCOz1 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

