You Should Keep Doing It

The other day, I got this great comment from finoarl who said:

I definitely think yoga has much more of an impact on other sports that a lot of people realise or give it credit.  I find a regular yoga practice really maintains my strength and staminar and I really feel the difference this makes to the other sports and activities I do!

I completely agree. And let me tell you, people notice too!

When I was in Puerto Rico, I spent a day doing some hiking, free-climbing, zip-lining, and rappelling. Early on, we had to hike/climb up a steep slope. It was one of those things were it was sorta hiking but more like crawling up a dirt incline while grabbing on to tree roots. When I got near the top, one of the guides was there to give me his hand and pull me on up. As he did so, the following conversation occurred:

Guide: You’re a runner, right?

Me: No. I used to be, but not anymore.

Guide: Well you do something. You’re in great shape. What do you do?

Me: Bikram yoga.

Guide: Whatever that is, you should keep doing it.

I don’t want to give the impression that the other people in my group were not in good shape. We all free-climbed up a waterfall, and I don’t think anyone had any problems, and no one slipped or got scratched up. What impresses me is how I can manage to be in good shape doing just Bikram. It defies all logic to me. Yes, I enjoy going for walks. I will take a walk everyday if the weather is good. But when it’s cold (and you all know what I consider to be cold), I’m not going out there. I am not a super-trooper like my 87 year old neighbor who will brave the cold to walk up and down our street.

Of course the day after I did all this stuff I was massively sore. But I used different muscles or used my muscles differently. In any case, I hurt for about two days.

How have you noticed Bikram effecting other physical activites you do?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 07:06:44

    As a kid, I did a lot of dingy sailing. There was this one day, I was out playing around, and I flipped my boat. I was trapped under the sail, tangled in the lines, and my foot was pinned at a strange angle against my stomach. I distinctly remember opening my eyes under water, realizing what a mess I was in, and telling myself “look. That’s tree pose. You know what to do.” I recited dialogue inside my head to keep from panicking while extracting myself.

    It’s probably the most afraid I’ve ever been while sailing and I honestly think I would have died without the yoga. Not only did it help me recognize the position I was in and keep me from panicking. Through my practice, I had the flexibility already built so getting stuck like that didn’t injure or even hurt. I knew how to control my breathing, which allowed me enough time to untangle and extract myself while underwater. And, I had the strength to pull myself out.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jul 01, 2013 @ 15:14:15

      Teenie, that is terrifying! Not only did you have the strength to pull yourself out, you were able to get your mind under control and not panic. That was very important.

      Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 19:53:38

    You Should Keep Doing It http://t.co/gvGcjJf1SU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 01:26:54

    You Should Keep Doing It http://t.co/sTk2OeuKZq #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

