Retro Throwback: Take a Sip of Water

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Take a Sip of Water – If You Need It was originally published in January 2013.

The phrase, “Take a sip of water – if you need it” is pretty common where I practice. I have heard it hundreds of times. However, it only really struck a chord with me in the last week. I usually hear this phrase at party time and then at the initial savassanah.

Sometimes I am in a space where I have no desire for water. Other times I really do believe I NEED that sip of water. But recently I owned up the fact that I don’t really need it, not usually, on a physical level.

Let’s be honest. If you need the water for physical reasons then you are dehydrated to some degree. That water will help you eventually, but your body won’t be able to process it in time to make your class any better. We all know you have to come into class properly hydrated. We all know that we don’t really need the water in class. I do believe there are exceptions to that. If you find yourself dehyradated then good grief, take the water. If you are sick or recovering from an illness taking some extra sips of water is probably a good idea.

So if I don’t normally need the water physically, why am I drinking it? Mental. It’s all mental.

I don’t think I’ll die or become dehydrated or ill if I don’t drink my water. I’m not concerned with anything bad happening to me if I don’t drink water in class. Mentally however, I enjoy the water. I swear it’s fulfilling some psychological need. Or is it? If I don’t need it physically, then why am I drinking it? Why does my brain kick in and say things like “Yummy, yummy, water. Must have it!” and other junk like that? Is my water fulfilling a psychological need – which we could argue is just as valid as a physical one – or is the water serving as a distraction to my practice? Because my brain will totally go to the water and start thinking about it. It likes to wander around. It often has it’s own agenda.

I'm off to get some water. Be back soon!

I’m off to get some water. Be back soon!

I did go through a period where I was taking classes with no water. I even reached a point where I didn’t bring water into the room! I liked that. It gave me a lot of freedom in my practice. But then I hit a bad class where I crashed out on the floor in dire need of electrolytes, and I think I just panicked. From that day on I thought I should bring water in just in case. Of course during my bad class someone left the room and got me what I needed, but I thought I should play it safe. So I think that part of the reason I bring the water in to begin with is fear although rationally I know there is nothing to fear.

Why do you drink in class? Do you need it? Why do you need it?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frangypan
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 16:32:04

    At the studio where I practise, water is discouraged. There are generally a few water bottles dotted around the room, but I would say the majority of students either don’t bring water in to class. Of course nobody yells if someone drinks water, but it is gently discouraged. Teachers never have water in class (when they’re teaching or practising) and we don’t have a party time. I like it that way, and now I often find it distracting when I go to a studio where you’re encouraged to drink.

    Of course in the beginning I had water with me, but now I haven’t for more than 2 years, and I’ve learnt to control my breath much better because of it. I also don’t have water in class when I do doubles, and recently did my first triple (YAY! It was awesome!) and didn’t need it then either. In a way, it means I’m much more conscious about hydration and rehydration, and it’s never there to distract me. Sadly it’s not quite as easy to leave my other habits outside the room!

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 04:51:06

    Retro Throwback: Take a Sip of… http://t.co/oFnClhQwYU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 23:24:10

    Retro Throwback: Take a Sip of… http://t.co/fZayYOMJHS #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

