Retro Throwback: Possible, but Not Easy

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Possible, but Not Easy was originally published in September 2012.

About a month ago I saw this great quote: Faith makes thing possible, not easy.

I immediately thought of yoga because, you know, I am always thinking about yoga.

When you start a Bikram practice, there are a number of things you have to take on faith. You have to trust that eventually it will get better. You have to trust that eventually you will grow to love the heat. You have to trust that you are not crazy for being there.

And then, as things slowly start to get better, what you need faith in starts to shift.

For me, I found that I had to have faith that one day my head would touch my knee in standing head to knee. I had to have faith that one day my forehead would touch the floor in standing separate leg stretching pose. I definitely had to have faith that one day I would my mat behind me in camel because I just didn’t even see how that one was physically possible.

I don’t know that faith made any of these things possible. I think my showing up to class 5-7 days a week and giving whatever it was I had to give made it possible. Of course, I also believed that one day these things were likely to happen. However, at some point I stopped thinking about them. I stopped believing that one day my forehead would touch my knee. It’s not that I thought it wouldn’t happen. However, I reached a point where I didn’t think it was productive to have faith that it would.

Stay with me.

I show up to class, my head doesn’t touch my knee again. I get disappointed but tell myself to have faith because someday it will as long as I hang in there. The next day the cycle repeats. Eventually, I stop telling myself to have faith and I just do the posture. Whatever the posture looks like that day is what my posture looks like that day. There’s no need to have faith that it will get “better” or be different eventually. Thinking those thoughts was only contributing to my disappointment. Instead, I needed to learn how to except my yoga for what it was that moment on that day and not wish it to be something else. Over time, it will naturally evolve. I needed to learn to be happy for my yoga each and every day. I still need to be reminded of that sometimes, particularly right now when things aren’t always as I’d like them to be for competition.

I think I might reword that quote from, “Faith makes things possible,  not easy,” to “Accept where you are today and embrace each and every difficulty. For it is our acceptance of these challenges, big and small, that enrich our lives.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 16:30:37

    Retro Throwback: Possible,… http://t.co/ptcxqByp9y #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

